Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I've never had latkes before so I have nothing to compare these to.All I can say is these tasted great.The whole family enjoyed them.Next time I'll reduce the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Way too salty! Sorry for the poor review, but I did not like them at all. I also agree with other reviewers about too much egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These are excellent! I made them as a special treat for my boyfriend one morning, and he hasn't stopped talking about them since - every time I ask him what he wants to eat (breakfast, lunch, snacks or dinner), his first request is these Latkes! I cut down the salt to half a teaspoon, use only 2 eggs, and about 1/4 cup of finely chopped fresh onion, and they come out crispy and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent. Made ten pounds for a party using the ratio..... yummmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Big hit at our Hannukah celebration. I made the latkes ahead of time and froze them on trays. Popped them in the oven at 450 degrees for about 15-20 minutes and they were perfect!! Thank you to Trader Joes for running out of your potato pancakes and forcing me to make them from scratch - much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
A tried and true recipe. I personally like to use mashed potatoes instead of flour, add a little lemon juice to the shredded potatoes to keep them from turning brown( orange juice works too.) Place shredded potatoes in a towel lined bowl place a towel on top and place a plate with a heavy pan on top. Let sit about 10 min. Mix mashed and shredded potatoes together add shredded onions, 1 egg, salt and pepper. Fry as directed. Much better potato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Right ingredients, wrong measurement. 1 egg is enough and about 1/2 a teaspoon of salt is plenty, more onion is good too. I made it with 2 eggs and 1 tsp of salt and it was a little too salty, I had to grate more potatoes to use up all the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I give this a five star because they really are so good. I've been making these for years, I've even added grated cheese and garlic to the mix. When I was growing up I used to think these were our very own family recipe. lol Thanks so much for bringing up an old favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I used half the salt and it was perfect -- so I would recommend that -- but otherwise these were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used only 2 eggs and lots more onion! Instead of flour or matza meal I used Bisquick...about 3 tablespoons & they were scrumptious! Really hit the spot this Christmas morning. =) For toppings I used applesauce & if you use sour cream- cut up some chives & mix it in w/ the sour cream...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States