Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 24)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These turned out great. I did use veggie oil, less salt and more onion. Thanks for posting. I will add these to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley99Aggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
After making a ton of latkes, I've noticed a few things. 1. Don't be too over zealous on draining out the liquid. The second time around I kept trying to keep the potatoes dry and you really need a good balance between liquid and dry amounts or else your latkes will not stay together. 2. Don't squash them out too thin. It seems like 1/2inch (maybe slightly less) is the perfect height to squash them to. Any less and you will be having a hard time flipping them. 3. If you are being stingy on the oil, make sure the oil is at bare minimum covering a millimeter layer on the bottom or they will not brown well! 4. 1 egg per 2 cups is PLENTY to keep your latkes together. So heed the other reviewers on that advice! 5. If you like your latkes a bit more seasoned, try different things like adding garlic (or garlic powder) or some curry seasoning. I wouldn't suggest frying it in garlic olive oil. The garlic was overwhelming and I like garlic! 6. Last but not least, it works well if you substitute whole wheat flour or matzo meal instead of the all-purpose. Although I might add that I found myself using a bit more than called for with the all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
YUM. These are very time consuming to make but definitely worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
mmmm very tasty! i used just one egg (that's all i had), and sprinkled the frying latkes with a bit of dill and paprika. yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were lovely! My first attempt at latkes so I think that, with time, I'll really be able to perfect the timing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
amazing. i only used one egg and used 3 table spoons of onion. absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were good; however, when I made the recipe exactly as written, I found it to be too much egg, too much salt, not enough taste, and too greasy. I found that the recipe tasted better when I used 1 bag of Simply Potatoes Shredded, 4 eggs, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 cup onion, and only added oil on a as needed basis. Cooked on a griddle on med-low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My daughter and I had a Latkes cook-off and this recipe brought me in on top. My husband uses this same recipe but grates the potatoes, where I prefer to shred. Both are great...but mine are better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were phenom! I had been looking for a latke recipe similar to this. I served mine with sour cream and applesauce on the side, I think they went best with the apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 231-240 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States