Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I never dreamed that such a simple recipe could be so delicious. I have never made any kind of “hash browns” from scratch, but it was so quick and easy. I followed this recipe to a T, and they came out perfect. As I was putting them into the skillet I thought to myself that I was making way too many than what my family would eat. (My husband and I, and our two young boys). But I’ll tell you every last one disappeared, they absolutely loved them. Even my youngest boy how generally wants nothing to do with potatoes, thought they were fantastic. I will never buy pre-made hash browns again; this recipe will be a sample in my collection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight, family loved them...simple to make and they were delish...did use vegetable oil instead of peanut oil...thanks for a super recipe, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've been looking for a good latkes recipes ever since I was a kid watching the "Lamb Chop Christmas Special" This fit the bill! I didn''t have the peanut oil so I used regular vegtable oil instead. They still came out fantastic! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
excellent taste, easy to make, great with sour cream. I added extra onion, but it is important to drain the potato, i will drain even more next time. Even try soaking up the onion water because when onion are grated they create quite a bit of water too. Great snack or an accompliment to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Yesterday was my first time making these...so funny that it's today's recipe of the day. :) I thought that these were Very good. In fact, I think they were the hit of the whole meal! I made them as directed, except used Japanese bread crumbs instead of flour. As opposed to using a cheese cloth, I simply squeezed out the excess with my hands when I scooped, shaped, then placed them in the pan. To go with this I made Burgundy pork tenderloin, Sarah's applesauce (both recipes from here) and steamed broccoli. And of course had sour cream on the table too. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Celebrating my first Hanukkah and this recipe was amazing I added a little Southern flair to it to make it my own and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I haven't tried this but want to answer Snoopy's question..I definitely would/will do just what you were going to...grab the grater and go for it, I think grate and shred are pretty much synonymous, altho shredding would be the smaller size on your grater. I think I'll use the larger size, but will play around with it. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
They're hard work - but so yummy! I boiled the grated potato as per the advice of other reviewers. Used whole wheat flour, doubled the batch but only used 2 eggs total; added pepper; misread the salt and put in too much - which was almost a good thing because there wasn't enough onion so the salt gave it flavor. Will make these again this week and will add much more onion. ~UPDATE~ For 12 cups of potato, I used 1 1/2 onions. Strained with a cheesecloth - worked really well! And the matzah ball mix instead of flour created a wonderful flavor! ~UPDATE: a 5lb bag of potatoes yielded 10 cups grated potato; I added two small grated onion to that; one egg per every 2 cups; knock the salt down to 3/4 tsp per every 2 cups; use matzah ball mix instead of flour. They're really very good with these changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We grew up with these, I wanted to add our personal version, we added crumpled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paint Lick, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fidgetblogs
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers who have said that this has too much egg. 1 egg per 2 cups of peeled potato is plenty. I made mine gluten free by using rice flour. I also added garlic and dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States