Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These were great - just like my mom and grandma make for Chanukkah! The only thing I changed was to follow the advice of some other reviewers (and my mom) - I used only 2 eggs and grated 3 small red onions into the potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Per other reviews, I doubled the onion and halved the egg and these turned out great! Didn't need 1/2 cup oil; I used maybe 1/4 cup canola oil (didn't have peanut and wanted to let our one-year-old try some anyway) in an electric, non-stick skillet and VOILA! Crispy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
YUMMY! My kids LOVED these and request them often :) My friend suggested to have them less hashbrown-like to food process (slightly) half the potato mixture and then return to the bowl before frying. That worked out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripletMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I agree with other reviewer, too eggy. Plus I was confused as to how much shredded potatatoe-measured out before or after draining in the cheesecloth. Maybe that affected mine. Also I added a little extra onion as another reviewer did and maybe that was counter productive. Will try again with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are great. Does anyone know if they can be made ahead and frozen? There were none left for me to try freezing when I made them! I'm hoping to form them, freeze them and cook them off as I need/want for family dinners. Any hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love this recipe, it is so easy and they come out very good. There is way too much salt though. I would only put about 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My husband who LOVES just meat and mashed potatoes finally liked something new. I made these last night with peameal bacon for supper, and he loved them. I was so glad because meat and potatoes every night can get boring real fast. Thanks Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is exactly the way my hubby remembers them from his childhood. He loves this Recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovebug
Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I never made latkes before but the recipe didn't look too difficult. The most tedious part was getting all the water out of the potatoes and onions....other than than it was a breeze. You definately have to make sure the oil is hot enough. I followed another reviewers choice to use vegie oil and I used only 3/4 cup of egg beaters instead of three eggs. I will give it 5 stars even though it was modified....and they tasted great. ** You can add a lil spicey cajun seasoning for an added kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
i used not oil but butter and it turned out so amazing!! it made it less greasy, but it gave it the "butter taste" :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States