Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I followed the other reviewers' suggestions of the potato to egg ratio. I also used yukon gold potatoes. The latkes were DELICIOUS!!! I ended up making a double recipe and we finished them off. We used apple sauce and sour cream for dipping. This recipe will definitely be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My husband hates latkes, but he LOVES these! So easy to make! I didn't have a cheesecloth, so I just used a papertowel to drain the excess water. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very easy to make, and I used the Matzo (sp) and 1 egg for binding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
For us this didn't have enough flavor and was too mushy. I did cut back on the egg and oil though. Adding pepper helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These come out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These were great - just like my mom and grandma make for Chanukkah! The only thing I changed was to follow the advice of some other reviewers (and my mom) - I used only 2 eggs and grated 3 small red onions into the potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kampala, Central Region, Uganda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Per other reviews, I doubled the onion and halved the egg and these turned out great! Didn't need 1/2 cup oil; I used maybe 1/4 cup canola oil (didn't have peanut and wanted to let our one-year-old try some anyway) in an electric, non-stick skillet and VOILA! Crispy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
YUMMY! My kids LOVED these and request them often :) My friend suggested to have them less hashbrown-like to food process (slightly) half the potato mixture and then return to the bowl before frying. That worked out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripletMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I agree with other reviewer, too eggy. Plus I was confused as to how much shredded potatatoe-measured out before or after draining in the cheesecloth. Maybe that affected mine. Also I added a little extra onion as another reviewer did and maybe that was counter productive. Will try again with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are great. Does anyone know if they can be made ahead and frozen? There were none left for me to try freezing when I made them! I'm hoping to form them, freeze them and cook them off as I need/want for family dinners. Any hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States