Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! I had 8 cups of potatoes and used 5 eggs. Cooked in vegetable oil Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I took the suggestions of others and used matzoh meal instead of flour, added more onions and used one egg. My daughter who has tried latkes before and doesn't like them tried one of these -- and then took a second. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have made them forever . After grating, rinse in ice water to remove excess starch, drain or spin dry and when you mix in the egg etc. add a little bit of lemon juice and the mixture will not turn black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made these Latkes with regular white potatoes (it took 3 potatoes to get 2 cups shredded). Followed the directions to a T, though strained the potatoes in a mesh sieve since I don't have any cheesecloth in the house. Fried in canola oil. As promised, delicious, crispy on the outside, tender on the inside! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Never having eaten latkes before,I have nothing to compare these to, but they are good. I used dehydrated hash browns from Costco, made them according to the directions and then squeezed the water from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
For this recipe 1-2 egg only, add pepper, one T all-purpose flour and one T corn starch(for gold color too), nutmeg , I added good quality ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Hope my mom is not reading this but these are the best latkes I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I love this recipe. Will be fixing this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Not your mama's latkes!!! I used the recipe converter to increase the servings. Proportionately, this should be the same recipe as how it's listed above. I was hesitant to put in as much salt as it called for, but convinced myself to follow the recipe (however I did use less than half the number of eggs it called for- as suggested by previous reviewers). The latkes are so salty- they are inedible. Even with a food processor, I find the process tedious and now I will have to buy all the ingredients again and do it all over tomorrow night in preparation for Hanukkah. This time, I will use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
As other reviewers noted, one egg is sufficient. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States