Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Super easy, super yummy. A huge hit! However I chopped finely the potatoes and used an entire big onion, chopped that as well, and used 1 egg per 2 cups as previously recommended by another member and I doubled the salt. These were so easy and perfect and a lot less mess and guessing. I used olive oil to fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
very delish! I used vegetable oil since that is all I had. I also used cracker meal instead of the flour. I love the crunchiness from the cracker meal much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made it just as written and it was very nice. Having had it that way, next time I'll experiment with proportions and add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a homemade latke. The batter seemed excessively eggy and the end result was very, very salty. I added more shredded potato as I was frying them to try to combat it but it couldn't counteract all the salt. I think it would be a perfect recipe if the salt was cut by 2/3 and the egg by 1/2. I usually sneer at reviewers for suggesting changes (ie come up with your own recipe if you know so much--ha ha!) and try to stick to the original recipe, but this time I really wish I'd read the other reviews and cut down on the egg and salt. Who knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffintopmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
That was really good I would eat this again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
As written, I give it three stars. It has way too much egg and not enough onion. If you reduce it to just one egg (two at the absolute most), double or even triple the onion, and use matzo meal or panko instead of flour, you'll have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I've done these often. I brown the onions in butter before adding. I also add shredded asiago cheese, and for gluten free, use corn meal instead of flour. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dudetimemachine
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The only thing I did different was use 1 egg instead of 3. Other than that, these were excellent. I haven't had these since I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I definitely would add double onions, but other than that...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States