Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
great recipe, at the end i still had too much liquid and i had to drain some of it but other than that it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjustice90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Fried potatoes are always a hit. These are crispy and delish. Make sure you wring out as much moisture from the potatoes as possible though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bremen, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
So delicious! My kids love them! It has become a tradition in my home to serve these for breakfast when the cousins sleep over. Delicious with sour creme and my home grown green onion. Thank you! Mary-Ellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
These were so good and so easy! This was my first time making them, and they were delicious! I just used the large holes of my cheese grater to shred the potatoes. My 7 year old helped me make them and he LOVED them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I just made these and the other reviewers are right - you definitely only need 1 egg, and it calls for way too much salt (and I generally like my potatoes pretty salted). I'd say maybe half or 3/4 of the salt should be used. These are really good topped with eggs (any style) and smothered in ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delicious! Brought me back to my mother's German kitchen. Without a cheesecloth, used my hands to squeeze out the moisture from the potatoes. As suggested, I increased the amount of onion to 2 T. or more and reduced the eggs to 2. The salt was also reduced a bit, and I added some McCormick garlic and table herb seasonings. Safflower oil was used in place of peanut. These are great hot and eaten cold as leftovers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
For me, these are just so so. I wouldn't bother making these again and go back to the Crispy Potato Pancakes listed on this site which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good! Took some time for me to figure out how long before flipping to get a nice brown side, but once that was more or less mastered - the recipe was nice and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family LOVES these! Made them per recipe first time, minus one egg. Then added some (1/4tsp dried) basil and a couple shakes of garlic powder the second time. WOW, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My husband loves potato latkes. We used to live by a Jewish deli, and we'd go there all the time for the latkes. We've since moved, so I decided to learn to make them myself. He said these were just as good! I shredded the potatoes with my food processor shredding attachment, and it worked perfectly. It didn't take long at all! I'd never grated onion before, but it was easy, too. The grated onion had a consistancy of applesauce and a lot of concentrated flavor. Still, I doubled it. Also, I took the advice of other reviewers and only used one egg and decreased the salt. They were SO GOOD. The only complaint I have is that I'm pregnant and couldn't stand the smell of the peanut oil. It made me want to gag! Next time, I'm going to try using vegetable oil, and hopefully they'll taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States