Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family LOVES these! Made them per recipe first time, minus one egg. Then added some (1/4tsp dried) basil and a couple shakes of garlic powder the second time. WOW, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My husband loves potato latkes. We used to live by a Jewish deli, and we'd go there all the time for the latkes. We've since moved, so I decided to learn to make them myself. He said these were just as good! I shredded the potatoes with my food processor shredding attachment, and it worked perfectly. It didn't take long at all! I'd never grated onion before, but it was easy, too. The grated onion had a consistancy of applesauce and a lot of concentrated flavor. Still, I doubled it. Also, I took the advice of other reviewers and only used one egg and decreased the salt. They were SO GOOD. The only complaint I have is that I'm pregnant and couldn't stand the smell of the peanut oil. It made me want to gag! Next time, I'm going to try using vegetable oil, and hopefully they'll taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Soo yummy! I love latkes and this was an easy delicious recipe. I didnt have peanut oil so i just used vegitable oil. I served it with sour cream. Yumm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These were awsome!!So easy to make and I did put more onion then it asked for, and also since we have so many potatoes from last year we had parboiled and froze them as hashbrowns they worked wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These were great; more work than I thought, but great! I used only ONE egg based on the other comments. They went perfect with the bloodworst I cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These potato latkes were the best I have ever eaten. Crisp, light, and delicious. As per others recommendations; I used 2 eggs, 1 tsp salt. Personally.. I squeezed out excess potato liquid in a towel and then I added dried parsley and measured out each pancake to be 2 scant tablespoons that I flattened before frying. With that measurement I got 13 good sized latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are do delicious! I had a bag of simply potatoes, that are already shredded, and are sold in the dairy section at the super market. I forgot about them and wanted to find something to use them up in. The bag measured 4 cups, so I just "doubled" the recipe except for the oil. I used vegetable oil and heated it on 7 and watched over them carefully, as they do cook up pretty fast. It made 2 batches of 5. Was very simple to make with the preshredded potatoes and tasty. Note: It says serve hot and I found that the next day they don't heat so well. So, next time I will make only what we can eat just cooked. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were fantastic! Next time I'm going to add more onion, because we love onions in my house, and we couldn't really taste them in this recipe. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Holy cow!!! This was terrific!!!! With a dobble of sour cream and chopped scallions....What can I say...Incredible!!!! And a perfect balance with stuffed cabbage. I cannot "Thank You" enough for this recipe.... I downsized to only make 4 Latkes and I will NEVER do that again...I WANTED MUCH MORE!!!! One again this is the "BEST" Latkes I have ever had....And I have had some really good ones from the big city restaurants.... This by far blew them all away.....I can't wait to make them again.....very soon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this recipe, almost like Nonnie's. My husband tends to put hot sauce on many dishes for 'flavor' (much to my dismay) and while it's not traditional, I added a good size portion of crumbled bacon to this recipe and my husband absolutlely loved them with sour cream. No hot sauce in sight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Making Potato Latkes on the Better Show

Watch the team at Allrecipes make potato latkes on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States