Potato Latkes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I too cut the eggs back and substituted Matzo Meal for flour (because I had some) and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Noosa, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Just made these, wow they are amazing!!! Super simple to make, great flavor, and they go great with sour cream, and apple butter, different I know but don't knock it. I will absolutely be adding these to my repotoir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Pretty good, but I would suggest the following changes to make it slightly more authentic: -The ratio of potato to onion should be roughly one medium onion to two large potatoes -You only need 1 egg:2 potatoes; anything more and it's a bit heavy He is right about getting the moisture out. If you don't, they will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Maybe my eggs are larger than the original recipe calls for but I found that 2 eggs was more than enough. We also enjoy them with a bit more onion, so usually finely dice half of a medium onion. I fry it in vegetable oil due to peanut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great! I doubled the onion and used one egg, as suggested. I also only used 1 tsp of salt. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Way too eggy. Next time I would use two eggs instead of three. I also used half the salt. Otherwise they were good. I would use more onions next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanasunset
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
There were fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blessed
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've never had latkes before, but saw recipes for it and was intrigued. We used frozen shredded potatoes and minced onion from a jar. Skipped step one because, well, you can't pull liquid from frozen potatoes. Absolutely delicious! Definitely a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I love potato pancakes! This recipe is so much easier than the Swiss pancakes I usually make. Very simple & very good! I made 3 cups with 4 eggs & another half tablespoon of flour. I also used onion powder. I must have made huge cakes because I got 9 even with the extra cup. I WILL make it again & play with the amounts, but I thoroughly enjoyed them with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
(Update...) made these again in my husband's grandma's ancient waffle iron with a little olive oil spray. SO EASY, LESS MESSY, PROBABLY HEALTHIER. (first review) Wow! Followed other advice, tripled onion and only one egg. Added a tsp of baking powder and some garlic. These were awesome for husband and two toddlers. Will make again and figure out how to hide other veggies in them. Hubs liked the shredded potato better than other grated versions. Will heat up leftovers and put a runny egg on top for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States