Potato Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The potatoes need to be cooked a little before slicing and adding to the lasagna. They never finished cooking and had to be taken out as we ate. The vodka sauce was a little too creamy with all of the cheeses. I'd recommend mixing the vodka sauce with a tomato sauce. Also, with the amount of food listed, you need larger than a 2 quart casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was absolutely delicious and easy to make! I love this recipe. I used small yukon gold type potatoes and red pepper rather than green pepper. I also used a tomato/basil marinara sauce instead of vodka sauce. This is the best thing I have eaten in a long time, and I live in France--land of food. I highly recommend this whether you are a vegetarian or not! Plus it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Évron, Pays De La Loire, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
with a few adjustments this is excellent. The potatoes as stated need to be "thinly" sliced, very thin and they will cook. I used regular red sauce and Italian seasoning, and what the heck since it's lasagna I added some ground beef and Italian sausage to the layers. served with garlic bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I looked at all of the reviews prior to making this. You do not need to cook the potatoes beforehand provided you slice them thinly (I used my mandolin) and you bake the dish a bit longer (I did 1 hour covered, 15 minutes uncovered). I also wouldn't use red potatoes since they don't get quite as soft as other types. I mixed some seasonings into the vegetable mixture (oregano, parsley, garlic, salt and pepper) and used a basil tomato sauce. It was outstanding. Thanks for the concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
The flavor was very good. Even my husband liked it! I substituted fat free tomato basil sauce for the vodka sauce. I had some trouble with the potatoes being undercooked. I think next time I will try baking them first, letting them cool enough to handle, and then slicing them and putting them in layers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
It's difficult to get the potatoes thin enough. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook them before layering the lasagna or not, so we didn't. Definitely make sure you cover this up with foil, or the potatoes will be tough. We might try this again, with regular gouda instead of smoked gouda. The smoky flavor was too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I am a terrible cook. I never know what goes well together so I have to follow recipes exactly. I made this for dinner last night and could not believe how delicious it was! First of all, I don't like to cook but this recipe was very easy so that's a big plus. Second, I don't usually like what I make even though the rest of my family loves my cooking. But when I sat down to eat this meal, I could not wait to have seconds. It didn't taste like what I expected from the ingredients. It was very different, and very yummy. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
REALLY good! It was helpful to read the reviews before hand. Note: It will create a lot of "juice" between all the veggies and the marinara sauce, but it was wasn't runny. My guests loved it. Left a clean 9x13!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Using what I had on hand, I ended up changing this entire recipe but for my own personal record, will comment and rate it. I used white potatoes, cut very thinly (mandolin size), sliced zucchini in place of the carrots, red pepper instead of the green, and a cheese fondue mixture (we live in Switzerland so American cheeses are hard to come by). I added a container of cottage cheese and used seasoned tomato puree instead of the vodka sauce. So really a completely different recipe but very tasty. It ended up like more of a Lasagna Stew which I thought was delish and so did the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I thought this was great, although a bit of work. Do slice the potatoes VERY thinly and cook longer (I cooked for 1hr 15mins. Used tomato/basil spaghetti sauce and added some ground beef to the sauce. Threw in extra veggies and fresh parsley and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justme

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States