Potato Klubb (Norwegian Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
A person might try using regular cooked and shredded pork instead of ham. Add chopped onion and salt/pepper with the pork inside the dumpling. Try using a blender created thick soup mixture of potato instead of grated. Make the dumplings about the size of a half baseball but oblong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
We have been making our version of Klubb for over 33 years. We love it made with a sausage ball instead of a cube of ham and we use equal portions of white flour and graham flour. We put extra sausage in the water along with rutabega and turnips and at the very end add cabbage and let steam. We then serve it with sour cream. We make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I grew up with this (my ancestors' area of Norway called it kumle), and I've FINALLY found the recipe my grandma must have used. It has nothing to do with the recipe, but I've never been able to find the ham Grandma used to serve alongside the kumle, never inside. I also used at least half again as much flour to make the "thick bread dough" consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My son made this with me for Easter Brunch. He deceided to fry a pound of bacon and then crumble it up and mix it in the dough. He also could find only organic red potatoes at the store. There was almost no water that drained off them. I have made these for over 30 years and this was the best batch I have ever had. We called it Krub in my family too. We make them about tennis ball size and then slightly flatten them. They cook faster that way. My mom made them the size of baseballs and they took much longer to cook. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We also made it this way and called it Krub. We grind the potato or run them through the food prossesor...preferably grinding. mix with your hands and be prepared to get really full of goop. keep adding flour untill it is fairly stiff and sticky. make a "nest" of potato/flour in hand and add the diced ham. I totally agree about the next days breakfast....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Several generations of my family love this and consider it a special treat! We called it Koomlah, and we all love it fried the next morning too. We have frozen some of the koomlah for a few weeks and that works well also. I will try it with the ham cubes, it should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe brings back so many memories. I make it mostly in the winter. I found you have to use red potatoes so they stay together. I also use cubed salt pork which is what my grandmother and mother always made it with. My mother used a grinder but I use a processor and the grinding blade. After many years of making this I found the key to success is putting the ground potatoes into a sieve and squeeze as much of the liquid out before you add the flour. It is wonderful sliced and fried in butter the next day. We always serve it with a lot of butter, salt, and pepper. My grandmother called it klubb. It is good old fashioned comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My father made this recipe...called kumle...and I remember he put pulsa (a fat norwegian hot dog) or lamb in the middle. I also remember he used potato flour instead of the regular flour. He boiled this in a big pot filled with turnips, pulsa, and lamb. It was one of my favorites, along with fislkebola, krumkaka, wafla and a prune dessert with cream at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Wonderful. I have to tell you, I'm not the potato dumpling fan in my house, but my wife like them so much, I made them for her. She says these were the best she's ever had. In fact, they were very well received by the whole family. My daughters said, "You mean these are the same as those gray things Grandma used to make?" Yep, except better. Sorry Grandma. I substituted 3 chicken bouillon for the salt and added 1/4 cup Oscar Meyer real bacon bits to the potato/flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
In my family, we called this kumle. Most of the time my grandma would boil a hambone (uncured) and then cook the kumle in the broth. Occasionally, for a 7th Day Adventist sister, she would use beef short ribs. This will be my Christmas dinner this year. You have to really pack the dumplings before placing them in the broth, and it must only be a simmer or less, otherwise they'll fall apart. I'm making it with short ribs, but I may try adding bacon to it, too, as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States