Potato Klubb (Norwegian Potato Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is very similar to what my mom used to make and my sister-in-law, brother & I now do. The only different ingredient we use is some graham flour in place of some of the all-purpose (I don't have the recipe here so I can't say exactly how much) plus we use more onion than this recipe calls for. We put the raw, pealed potatoes, ham and onion thru an old fashioned hand-cranked meat grinder and then mix it with the flour, etc. While I suspect that doing it the way this recipe calls for is also very, very good I'm not comfortable rating it since I haven't cooked it exactly that way myself. But I know that I'd give my mom's recipe six stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My mom died in the 50's when I was 15, and this recipe was a fond memory of hers. She made this every Christmas eve for a large family gathering. She had a slightly different name for it. something like putakoomlah.. not sure of the spelling. (The puta part). I remember flour was the important ingredient. Too little the dumplings fell apart. More kept them white. Too much made them doughy. I Think I will give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Grew up on this (my dad was full Norwegain and mom was 3/4) living in North Dakota. We always made Klubb the day after having a ham dinner. Mom would save the ham bone for making Klubb; used it in the boiling water to give it flavor, and leftover ham was used to place inside the dumplings. It was served in a bowl with some of the broth and lots of butter, salt and pepper. Have never tried it with shredded pork, rutabagas, or onion, but that sounds like a good idea too. I eventually became vegetarian, so I make a separate batch just for me and of course skip the meat. For broth flavoring, I add butter, honey, and soy sauce or tamari to the water. Works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Being a Norwegian who's lived in the states since 2005 I miss my mom's cooking. This is one of those dishes, we've always had this in the fall/winter and always make a big batch (in a stock pot). My parents get an uncooked salted and smoked ham (on the bone) and cook it for a couple of hours in water to make a flavorful stock to cook them in. Also depending on where in Norway you live you call this dish klubb,krub kumle or raspeballer. I'm from Bergen west coast Norway, so we call it Raspeballer. We have always used rye flour to make these, and we don't put any bacon in the middle, that is more common in the north and south part of Norway. Cooking the klubbs, kumle etc in the stocks will make them absorbs some of the flavor from the stock. We always have rutabaga cubes or mash on the side and some of the smoked sausages you can get in Norway, here I would do a link of the Polish Kielbasa. Some eat these with some syrup, we just eat them as they are. This is also one of those dishes that taste better the next day. But this is one of those fall/winter comfort foods I miss from back home. This dish and Fårikål are the best comfortfoods when it gets cold outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silje Bannister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
In my family, we called this kumle. Most of the time my grandma would boil a hambone (uncured) and then cook the kumle in the broth. Occasionally, for a 7th Day Adventist sister, she would use beef short ribs. This will be my Christmas dinner this year. You have to really pack the dumplings before placing them in the broth, and it must only be a simmer or less, otherwise they'll fall apart. I'm making it with short ribs, but I may try adding bacon to it, too, as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Wonderful. I have to tell you, I'm not the potato dumpling fan in my house, but my wife like them so much, I made them for her. She says these were the best she's ever had. In fact, they were very well received by the whole family. My daughters said, "You mean these are the same as those gray things Grandma used to make?" Yep, except better. Sorry Grandma. I substituted 3 chicken bouillon for the salt and added 1/4 cup Oscar Meyer real bacon bits to the potato/flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
We have been making our version of Klubb for over 33 years. We love it made with a sausage ball instead of a cube of ham and we use equal portions of white flour and graham flour. We put extra sausage in the water along with rutabega and turnips and at the very end add cabbage and let steam. We then serve it with sour cream. We make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This can be an aquired taste but there is a couple of things to make it likeable for more people. There is no"authentic "recipe It depends on region'and family tastes. We called it Kumle. Not a meal for calorie counters as was meant more for people in cold climates who needed them. First, most of taste will come from broth. Instead of just ham we use, beef sausage, garlic sausage, pork sausage, garlic, onion etc. Once this broth has boiled meat well, remove the meat and MAKE SURE broth is bubbling before carefully adding the dumpling or they may tend to fall apart. Oh we also add a well peppered piece of light cooked bacon or salt pork to center of dumpling Serve dumpling and meat with lots of butter and pepper to your taste. Next day, cut up & fry up left over dumplings and meat - very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
To those who have never made these, they do turn a different color since the potatoes oxidize. They aren't supposed to be light or airy (my dad likes to call them Norwegian cannonballs). Grandpa always said that if they didn't drop to the bottom there was something wrong with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made these for our traditional Norwegian Christmas dinner. Somehow they turned a weird grey-purple color and were tasteless. I don't know what could have been done to save these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States