Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
We loved this! I wasn't sure how the dumpling would work, but it did! Thanks for the great use of broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe! It turned out like a potato soup with tons of great veggies in it. I modified it slightly as I got toward the end of the recipe because it wasn't all going to fit in the pot (come to think of it, this was due to the fact that I tripled the amount of celery and carrots called for). I only added about 2 cups each of milk and cheese, and left out the dumplings entirely. Great taste, no need for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIECHILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
the ultimate in comfort food. who wouldnt want potatoes, ham, and dumplings. hungry just thinking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good! This did just hit the spot on a cold winter day here in Minnesota! I added more potato and celery than stated I also heavied up on the cheese just because it looked so good. But Im sure this is a delicious recipe just as it is for sure! My family gobbled this up! A note on the 'dumplings' They are really just a very small noodle rather than an actual dumpling, but I believe they added an extra texture that really made this recipe tasty so I would recommend keeping them. Trust the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe was exactly what it said! It was perfect. I followed the directions almost to the letter. I only changed the kind of cheese (used what I had in the fridge) and added more ham, my family are meat eaters! It is definitely a keeper. Everything I needed for this soup I already had in the kitchen which was perfect for the cold front which founds it's way to our town. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Davis-Zeno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I thought this recipe was very tasty though my children were not as thrilled. But then, if it's not Mac 'n cheese, they aren't likely to eat it. In an effort to hide the veggies, I pureed the carrots and broccolli (after steaming them). Other than that, I followed the recipe and I thought it was great especially for this cold winter night in sunny South Florida. (Yes, it was a record breaking 37 degrees!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My family loved this soup! It was easy and had so much flavor!! I omitted the thyme because I didnt have any and subbed velveeta for the chedder. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Everyone at my house loved this soup, even though the left overs got really thick it was still great!! I added bacon to the soup that I had left-over from breakfast and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This soup sounded like the perfect solution to my potato ham soup delema. However it was not quite what I was expecting in taste. Maybe it was the thyme? Others may like it, just not my cup of tea. The boyfriend liked it. I did add extra milk at the end because it was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States