Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
WOW! WOW! WOW!!! I modified this recipe for a low carb diet and it was fantastic. I can only assume that the fully loaded recipe as written would be out of this universe. The changes I made to make it low carb were: no potatoes (instead I used some cauliflower), no carrot, no flour (and therefore no need for the egg). After adding the chicken stock, I added the broccoli and cauliflower, brought to a boil and then simmered for 15 minutes. Then I added the 4 cups of milk. To thicken the soup, I used another 1/2 cup of milk with 1/4 cup of cornstarch blended together and then slowly poured in before I added the ham and cheese. I brought the pre-ham and cheese mixture to a small boil to thicken. Then added the ham and slowly the shredded cheese to melt it consistently. Also, in the very beginning, I browned the diced ham in the soup pot, removed the ham but let the crusty stuff on the bottom of the pan. Then I added the butter and sautéed the onions and celery, and went on with the recipe. I feel like this is a very decadent meal and I'm not missing out on any flavor at all! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This soup was AWESOME! I followed the directions to a T and it came out perfect. I did add an extra carrot! I did not have cayenne or thyme and I didn't replace them with anything. The flavor was great. My husband loved it and so did I . Will def make again soon. Next time I will a couple more carrots and celery, I really like veggies. NOTE: sprinkle green onions and bacon on top before serving, looks great and tastes better!!! thanks for sharing a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We loved it but will do less of the Baby Dumplings. other then that it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I just tried this awesome recipe - even my kids liked it. I only didn't put the cheese into the soup but everybody could put some cheese in his bowl. And I added a few fresh slices mushrooms, because they were sitting in the fridge. I think, you would be able to omit the egg - flour and just add a cup of Alfredo Sauce instead, omitting the milk altogether. Thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
We used our leftover ham, and I decided to follow recipe and include the dumplings, it turned out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Thacker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was excellant once I had the soup boiling and the flavor i wanted i dumped in a package of vegtables normandy and shut the pot off. The frozen vegtables heated in the pot and were crisp and tasty in the soup with big chunks of ham and little chunks of potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The soup was very good, although a little on the thick side. If I made it again, I would add more chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The flour/egg didn't make dumplings so much as it made a very thick soup. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The ideas are all there, but my soup separated. Use whole milk and/or some heavy cream to help prevent that. Flavors are all there though - I'd just up the spicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I was kinda disappointed with the soup because the dumplings didn't turn up in the soup. Other than that great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States