Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good! This did just hit the spot on a cold winter day here in Minnesota! I added more potato and celery than stated I also heavied up on the cheese just because it looked so good. But Im sure this is a delicious recipe just as it is for sure! My family gobbled this up! A note on the 'dumplings' They are really just a very small noodle rather than an actual dumpling, but I believe they added an extra texture that really made this recipe tasty so I would recommend keeping them. Trust the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
We loved this! I wasn't sure how the dumpling would work, but it did! Thanks for the great use of broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My family loved this soup! It was easy and had so much flavor!! I omitted the thyme because I didnt have any and subbed velveeta for the chedder. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
did not add dumplings. added cauliflower. Everyone loved it. Very good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe made for a great dinner! The only downside was that the prep time took longer than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was very good. Next time I would puree the mixture before adding the dumplings because I felt the veggie chunks overshadowed the texture of the dumplings. I had leftover kielbasa so I used that in place of the ham and it worked great. I have had this in my box to try for over 1 year. I am so glad I finally tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Amazing... made as written with a lot less butter and 1/4th the ham cause that is all I had.... Couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I would definitely give this a five star rating. The dumplings are great. I didn't have any ham around so I substituted about 6 strips of maple bacon and it was delicious! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yum, loved this recipe! I had never made dumplings, so I was skeptical about how they would turn out--but they gave the soup good texture and I was pleased with the results. I would call this a chowder instead of a soup because it's so thick and hearty-might add more liquid next time. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It was fantastic and very easy to make. However it did seem a little thick so I used more milk than it called for and I substituted the ham with bacon. It was a great meal for such a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States