Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
So delicious! My very picky toddler who mostly throws her food polished off a good sized bowl without complaint then demanded seconds, she polished off that half bowl quite happily too! Hubby and I loved it too. I added one extra each of potato, celery, and carrot, and about a cup of water to make up for the extra but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Definitely added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindyBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Onawa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was good but better before I put the broccoli in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wonderful!! The whole family loved it! It did take me longer than 45 minutes to make it though, but well worth it! I added more carrots and celery too and thought it was great!The broccoli took longer to cook too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tmazure
Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I thought this would be good, but it was just too much stuff in one pot. It isnt a creative mixture blended together to create some great tasting soup. No one in the family liked it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaV123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It was fantastic and very easy to make. However it did seem a little thick so I used more milk than it called for and I substituted the ham with bacon. It was a great meal for such a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great soup to make and can to give to people at work who might be sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennnYeee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobb, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe made for a great dinner! The only downside was that the prep time took longer than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
LOVED this hearty and comforting .all 5 of my boys loved this with warm bread perfec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ringoes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was very good. Next time I would puree the mixture before adding the dumplings because I felt the veggie chunks overshadowed the texture of the dumplings. I had leftover kielbasa so I used that in place of the ham and it worked great. I have had this in my box to try for over 1 year. I am so glad I finally tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yum, loved this recipe! I had never made dumplings, so I was skeptical about how they would turn out--but they gave the soup good texture and I was pleased with the results. I would call this a chowder instead of a soup because it's so thick and hearty-might add more liquid next time. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States