Potato Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amber Kee Bush
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
So I added carrots and subbed half and half for milk and upped the amount to make it thicker and creamier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kee Bush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was the first time I can remember that the whole family liked a meal with no complaints at all. I did make a couple of minor changes. Instead of cod I used fish I caught myself (rock bass and small mouth bass) and instead of clam juice I used fish stock I made by boiling the heads of the fish then removing them and topped it up with salt water. I added 2 carrots, diced, and instead of whole milk I used 2% lactose free milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Good basic soup. I also added carrots. I was a little worried it wouldn't be flavorful enough, so I added ground white pepper at the end. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was okay. Not very flavorful. My family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Really good! Didn't have clam juice, so subbed with chicken boullion. Also used schucked, frozen clams and the juice from them. Didn't have much celery, so added a pinch of celery salt in place of regular salt. It's cooking now,and smells amazing! Will probably whisk in a bit of cornstarch to thicken. So far the taste test is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimyloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I found this recipe really tasty, even tho I did have to do several substitutions because I decided to try this on a whim (Chicken broth for oyster juice... still works great). I added more seasonings too such as basil and tarragon and a dash of cayenne. Also used tilapia and cod. Served with a tortilla, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a delicious chowder that everyone loved! We had some breaded cod fillets (about a pound) leftover from dinner that we decided to use for this recipe. I didn't have clam juice so I used 3 cans of chopped clams instead. I didn't have whole milk so I used heavy cream and some water and added about 1/3 cup flour to thicken the chowder. Also added about 5 strips of cooked bacon chopped up. Super delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe! We will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Being originally from New England, I know a good fish chowder when I taste it....and this is it. I have been looking for a chowder recipe that tasted authentic. This is it. The only changes I made were to use heavy cream instead of the milk, and I added a can of cream style corn. Absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEIWAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Totally excellent. I'd soo make this in a heart-beat again! It is on the thin side for us, but the flavor was really good. I'll be replacing the milk with heavy cream the next go around. The recipe was very easy to follow, easy with the instructions and I didn't feel it was at all time consuming. Totally Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States