Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
DELICIOUS DUMPLINGS! I ADDED SOME PARSELY FOR COLOR. I DON'T OWN A POTATO RICER SO I USED A FINE GRATER AND IT WORKED WELL. TIP-DIP HANDS IN BOWL OF COLD WATER WHILE SHAPING THE DUMPLINGS AND THE DOUGH WON'T STICK TO HANDS. I WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR SURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This recipe (as written) is DELICIOUS. Except I have to admit, I am a DUMPLING ADDICT. Therefore, I am continuously "on the hunt" for a perfect dumpling. To this end, I'd suggest adding more spice and herb to the basic recipe (my choices: dried garlic, parsley, basil, oregano and cayenne pepper). I've also been known to add shredded carrots, bell peppers (choose your color) and/or zucchini (green or yellow) to the "mix". My advice: cook (stew or boil) your chicken first (along with all of the requisite vegetables). Set it aside and THEN (given the broth it's generated), drop your dumplings. Serve topped with cheese (my preferences: parmesan, velveeta and/or swiss) and you've got a wonderfully "comfortable" mid-afternoon snack, sidedish or (dare I suggest?!) dinnertime main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I learned this recipe from my Dad, who called it "glasen" and served it as a side dish with saurbraten and red cabbage. Those who thought this was bland should recognize it's value as a side dish served with other german dishes to provide a wonderful combination of flavors. And, yes it's also a quick next day breakfast dish sliced thin and fried in butter with onions, bacon bits, and mushrooms then covered in shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These are great tasting. I have been eating this exact recipe since I can remember.I add a piece of salt pork,and a piece of onion in the center of each dumpling before I cook them.. This will add good flavor. The very best thing about eating these however. THE NEXT DAY. Sliced and fried with butter on top. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We have this recipe in our family as well, only without the croutons. We use ham drippings mixed with melted butter for the gravy. The salty-ness with the mild flavor of the dumplings is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milbank, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe brings back many memories! My grandmother used to make these and in the water which she boiled them in, she used a salty and spicy hungarian sausage from a local meat market along with some diced onion. Oh and the next day, it was first come first serve for the left overs! She used to role them in corn flake crumbs and fry them. Delicious!!! thanks for posting this...I hadn't made them in years and have lost the recipe. LOVE THIS WEBSITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
The best i have had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Didn't turn out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Good, but needed some extra flavor.In the future I will add extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States