Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Didn't turn out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe brings back many memories! My grandmother used to make these and in the water which she boiled them in, she used a salty and spicy hungarian sausage from a local meat market along with some diced onion. Oh and the next day, it was first come first serve for the left overs! She used to role them in corn flake crumbs and fry them. Delicious!!! thanks for posting this...I hadn't made them in years and have lost the recipe. LOVE THIS WEBSITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I learned this recipe from my Dad, who called it "glasen" and served it as a side dish with saurbraten and red cabbage. Those who thought this was bland should recognize it's value as a side dish served with other german dishes to provide a wonderful combination of flavors. And, yes it's also a quick next day breakfast dish sliced thin and fried in butter with onions, bacon bits, and mushrooms then covered in shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was all right, but I found that by adding a fourth a cup of fish sauce and two tablespoons of chili powder, the flavor was greatly enhanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This recipe (as written) is DELICIOUS. Except I have to admit, I am a DUMPLING ADDICT. Therefore, I am continuously "on the hunt" for a perfect dumpling. To this end, I'd suggest adding more spice and herb to the basic recipe (my choices: dried garlic, parsley, basil, oregano and cayenne pepper). I've also been known to add shredded carrots, bell peppers (choose your color) and/or zucchini (green or yellow) to the "mix". My advice: cook (stew or boil) your chicken first (along with all of the requisite vegetables). Set it aside and THEN (given the broth it's generated), drop your dumplings. Serve topped with cheese (my preferences: parmesan, velveeta and/or swiss) and you've got a wonderfully "comfortable" mid-afternoon snack, sidedish or (dare I suggest?!) dinnertime main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These are great tasting. I have been eating this exact recipe since I can remember.I add a piece of salt pork,and a piece of onion in the center of each dumpling before I cook them.. This will add good flavor. The very best thing about eating these however. THE NEXT DAY. Sliced and fried with butter on top. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
We have this recipe in our family as well, only without the croutons. We use ham drippings mixed with melted butter for the gravy. The salty-ness with the mild flavor of the dumplings is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milbank, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This was just OK. I'm not really familiar with "good" dumplings, but these were just bland. I'd add parsley and more salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Super! Very, very good! Loved the leftovers fried the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENAJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States