Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It was terrible. All soggy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent! Just the way Gram made them. Love them!! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I cut back the flour to one cup, used 5 eggs and instead of croutons, used a half-cup of pankow breadcrumbs. I also added a couple of tablespoons of fresh, chopped parsley. Reducing the flour made these more potato-ey and eliminated any heaviness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I thought these were OK, but my husband who rarely says "don't make again," just didn't like them. I think part of the problem was that he was comparing them to a family favorite made for years as a side to our sauerbraten meal. We just call that recipe potato balls, and this really is a dumpling. That being said, they were enjoyed more as leftovers browned in a skillet with some butter. Also, the recipe says "baked potatoes" in the ingredient listing, but the instructions says "...boil potatoes..." I boiled them and chilled before ricing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Thanks so much for this recipe. My Grandmother from Poland made this for us for years. She served them with stewed beef. I can't wait to make this as I have been looking for this recipe for 3 years. The best was to slice the leftovers and fry in butter. serve with fried egg, we loved this as kid. will try the recipe and get back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Susan Boorman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Micco, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Disappointed! Had leftover potatoes to use and stumbled upon this recipe my husbands granny used to make. The only change I made was to insert a crouton in the middle. Its very easy to make but found this stuff too eggy and not the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Boy! our grandmas must have known each other...we only got these when we had a pork AND veal roast(cooked together w/ onions & s&p-because that made the best ever gravy) and that gravy over dumplings was beyond wonderful. Actually tho, I couldn't wait for the fried leftovers...pretty close to pierogis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Good, but needed some extra flavor.In the future I will add extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Didn't turn out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe brings back many memories! My grandmother used to make these and in the water which she boiled them in, she used a salty and spicy hungarian sausage from a local meat market along with some diced onion. Oh and the next day, it was first come first serve for the left overs! She used to role them in corn flake crumbs and fry them. Delicious!!! thanks for posting this...I hadn't made them in years and have lost the recipe. LOVE THIS WEBSITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States