Potato Dumplings with Bacon and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Most excellent Paminmi...Just like my Grandmother use to make. She would layer the dumplings with cottage cheese topped with plenty of fresh ground pepper and then the bacon & onion. I did add salt to the dough and browned the dumplings with the bacon & onion this time and WOW...Perfection..Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I use to buy the frozen but wow cheaper just have to judge the flour when adding and when dropping in the water still needed more flour so it doesn't stick, anyhow when u get down with that I browned mine with butter and breadcrumbs please, please try this more butter is better. also SERVED THIS WITH A kROASHAN recipe which is with round steak rolled with bacon and onion the sauce is ketchup and lipton onion soup and serve with red cabbage. Anyhow good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We grew up on these. My Mom never used a recipe and I still make them--always in large batches with some to freeze! I squeeze out all of the extra liquid from the onion and potatoes before adding the egg or flour. You want them as tender as they can be so use the least amount of flour you can. It is okay if bits fall off of them while cooking! I scoop teaspoon-sized amounts off of the side of a plate into boiling water. If you get the spoon very hot in the boiling water first the dough won't stick as badly. When they rise to the top, time them 5 minutes and take out and drain. Besides frying them with the bacon and onion, Mom served them with cottage cheese on top! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I have made these dumpling many times. My grandmother used to make them all the time. She taught me to use cheese cloth to squeeze out the water after she grated the potatoes so not as much flour is needed. Also, she used to make the potato, egg, flour mixure into a pasty consistency and put the cooked onions and bacon inside of the dumpling. Then boil them and fry them a little in the bacon grease. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe after reading the second review posted by the author. I can understand her tips. Back in the days, when moms and grand-moms cooked, they almost never measured. They judged by consistency. Having a recipe passed down to you is sometimes difficult to duplicate because its being passed from someone whose done it for years, and doesn't measure at all. That being said, I followed PAMINMI's advice, and I loved these. I added about 1tsp of salt and 1tsp garlic powder to the dough, and a bit of heavy cream into the onions and bacon for a kind of creamy sauce. I served them with pork chops baked in the oven and my husband went back for seconds. Thanks for the second post Paminmi, it definitely helped =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made them today..the first batch was a little bland..but the second time around i ended up cooking them with minced sausage pieces, onions and bacon grease I added a tiny amount of salt and they were pretty good! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
It was OK. I used up my last 2 potato because I wanted more for sides instead of mashed so decided to try this. I wish I could've just did mash instead. I followed recipe exactly even adding some salt to it and it was still blah. It was just too rubbery for me and none of my kids ate it. I wont be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanavaorry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Not worth the effort! don't taste bad but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
these were really tastey, but really hard to get the dough to the right consistency. like other reviews, i added salt. probably about a tablespoon and it could have used more. i used two really large potatoes (probably a lb a piece). honestly, i probably won't be making this again bc it was so time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used turkey bacon which made it kind of bland. Decent recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States