Potato Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these last night and was looking forward to however they turned out because the Maggi version is becoming harder to find (and it's expensive). So, after reading a few reviews I added 1 tsp salt AND 1 tsp bouillon mix. I also added some chives which also helped with color. In the end, they were flavorful,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Our family loves these. Even my 3 year old daughter. I used Butter & herb mashed potatoes and it gives them such a great flavor. The regular instant mashed potatoes were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I loved the use of potato flakes! As a college student, this recipe was pretty cheap and helped me change up my menu options. Like a few others, I had a difficult time making the dumplings because the batter was so sticky. To help, I rubbed a little bit of olive oil into my hands as I rolled them, then tossed the dumpling into some flour and rolled them some more. I did this for every dumpling. (I doubled the recipe and ended up making around 30). This really helped and allowed the actual creation of the dumplings go faster. To give them a boost in flavor, after boiling them, I cooked them in a tomato paste with vinegar, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, sliced peppers and cilantro. I let them simmer in the sauce and after about 10-15 min. the dumplings were beautifully seasoned and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Loved these! Very easy to make and tasted wonderful. However, I like mine a little more dense and was wondering if anyone could suggest which to increase, the potatoes or the flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I was looking for something that didn't require actual potatoes because I didn't have any. For the simplicity I didn't expect much, but these are excellent. I actually made them with only 1 egg (didn't read the recipe well) and they turned out just fine. Like other reviewers I had a problem kneading them. I used my dough hook and just kept adding flour but they were still sticky even after adding almost 3/4 C more flour. I pretty much took a spoon and dumped 6 blobs into chicken broth to cook. They weren't pretty, but they taste great. Next time I will make them smaller since I thought they were too big. I agree that on their own they are bland, but I've never eaten dumplings without buttter and salt or gravy of some sort. We will definately have these again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Sticking with old-fashioned biscuit dough dumplings from here on out. These had little to no flavor, even after I boiled them in chicken stock instead of water and added garlic and herbs to "help". :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe. I use caramelized onions. Milk instead of water and no eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I've relied on Panni's Potato Dumpling mix for many years but, since it's becoming more and more difficult to find, I'd decided to try my hand at a homemade recipe. The basis for this particular recipe is rather sound, but I, too, found them very bland. I reduced the amount of liquid for the mixture ever so slightly and roll the dumplings in my hand (approx. 1.5" - 2" round each). I've found that adding approximately a tbs. (or so; I do it by sight) each of finely-diced fresh parsley, dill and scallions, as well as adding onion or chicken bullion cubes and another tbs. or so of finely-diced scallions to the water (1 cube per cup of water) does wonders! Tried it for the potato dumplings I'd made this past St. Nicholas Day (with a Sauerbraten recipe I'd found on allrecipes.com, which always comes out great), and the dumplings came out perfect! You can also keep the dumplings in the broth and serve as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
good way to use up potato flakes. not crazy about the texture but i've never had potato dumplings before. also a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is a great base of a recipe. I tried these and first time they turned out fluffy and yet dense, strange yet delicious and very filling! After removing them from the water I put them in a pan with butter and sausage, which was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

All about Potatoes

Discover which potatoes are best for which preparations.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States