Potato Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wonderful dumplings served with sauerbraten. I like to roll the dough on a floured board into a log. Then, slice and roll into a ball. Additionally, I brown a slice of toast and some chopped onions in butter, and place in the middle of the dumpling before boiling. This helps prevent a soggy middle and adds flavor to the dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broad Channel, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I don't know what I keep doing wrong, but each time I make these they come out as foul tasting, slimy, soggy potato flour balls. I halved the recipe simply because there's only two of us in our house, so maybe its a volume problem, but this isn't the first time I've butchered potato dumplings. I think I should just leave the dumplings to my oma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are GREAT with a gravy based main dish like sauerbraten. The mixing required to get the paste-like flour/egg mixture was a ton of work and seem counter intuitive. But with a lot of elbow grease it all worked out well. I pre-made the dumplings and kept them in the fridge...way easier to handle this way. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vkr422

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I had a hard time finding the perfect time to take them out of the water, BUT this was my first experiece with dumplings. I am sure it takes some time to perfect. I actually found these better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made these for German friends with Sauerbraten. They were a HIT! A little browned butter and bam. Will be making again in a couple weeks with my pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
to day I made these dumplings , they were just wonderful , I added chives and butter , but very little . We had them with meat loaf , an use a little of the juice . Planned to make them at least once a week from now on . They were very much the same as my mom made . Thank you very much Norbert .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
my Husband loved them. He said they were just like he remembers as a kid. I thought they were good. Without the sauce they were kinda bland for my taste. I will make them again since the hubby enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful as is, or with a smidgen of minced onion. These are substantial and filling without being heavy or dense. Great with Sauerbraten V and Roasted Brussels Sprouts from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I really liked this recipe, so I decided to try some variations. For a nice seasonal spin, I found that replacing the potato with sweet italian pumpkin or butternut squash was fantastic.. The sauerbratten gravy sounds great for this one, but if you're like me and don't often have good brats on hand, top it with melted butter and chopped sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These dumplings were fabulous!!! The recipe is easy and fun to make. I did double the amount of nutmeg as I like it to be more than subtle. My neighbors are still raving about these after I shared them with them....the recipe makes a lot! Thank you Cathy for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States