Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had higher expectations for this dish! It turned out to be very bland, even after doubling the seasonings. And it had a funky aftertaste, too! I don't think I'll try this one again, but it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
To really make this work, I suggest you change the milk/water to coconut milk (2 cans), double the spices and peas, and add an onion. But then it really is a nice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was soooo delicious! I grew up in SE Asia and this totally hit the spot for me. I doubled (or maybe even tripled) the spices, especially the spicy ones, and also added a can of chick peas because that's how I remember it as a kid. I also added minced garlic at the beginning. Even my all American burger-lovin' hubby gobbled this down and said I can make it again. I served it with homemade naan. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great base curry, but it needs a bit of tweaking to make it perfect. Double all spices, add one chopped onion to saute pan, add one bunch chopped cilantro at the end, use either greek yogurt or coconut milk in place of regular yogurt, add a lot more peas (use petite ones for sweetest flavor), and most important: fry the cubed potatoes on high in a bit of oil BEFORE adding them to the pan (don't let them cook all the way through), and they will keep that crispy outside but creamy, flavorful inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Fantastic! It does help to add some garlic and onion and to use a bit less yogurt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very easy & yummy! Had to cook my potatoes a little longer than indicated, but ultimately was a very enjoyable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I wasn't able to get ghee, so I substituted olive oil, which may have affected the taste. I found it was spicy, but didn't have a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I doubled the spices except for turmeric and cayenne as suggested by earlier reviews. The curry turned out delicious! It took about 20min for the potatoes to be fully cooked. I think next time I will add some grated onion and some minced garlic as others have suggested, although the curry was still great without those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This dish was okay, it had tons of seasoning but still came off as bland. This looked very similar to a favorite dish of mine except the dish I've had used tomatoes in the sauce. I added some diced tomatoes and garbanzo beans and it helped, but I think this dish still needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberln

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have made this countless times, and it's fantastic every time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States