Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Excellent, You need Ghee, But I found this on how to make it How to make Ghee At Home Pure unsalted Butter (not margarine) 1. Heat butter in a saucepan in high-medium heat until it boils or bubbles. 2. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook uncovered until butter turns to a clear golden color. (Butter usually begins to boils with lots of bubbles. When it is done, it will have foams on top of it indicating that ghee is nearly done.) 3. Cool it and store it in dry container. Use ghee in you regular cooking. I added I can of rinsed chickpeas/garbanzo beans and served it with whole wheat naan, this is how a local indian restaurant we go to has served it. Also its took me no more the 30 minutes from start to finish with clean up. Be careful the yellow colored sauce tends to stain things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was very mild and even with curry powder added it was still too plain. If you want something that's a little indian but not a lot, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this curry for myself, my boyfriend and a friend and we all really liked it. I like how inexpensive and easy (though a bit time consuming) it is to make. The changes I made were to double all the spices (actually quadrupled the cayenne and it still didn't seem spicy, I think I might have mislabeled paprika!), add more salt, use olive oil and I also had to add about a cup and a half more water because so much cooked off. This is a great curry and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I omitted the yogurt completely and this dish was delicious. I doubled the spices and the potatoes had a nice bite to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I doubled the spices and added 2 cups of peas, as well as an onion and a clove of garlic. The flavor was terrific, but my husband and I both thought the yogurt overwhelmed the dish. We like things spicy, and I think the yogurt diluted the spices a bit, and made everything a little too creamy/tangy for our taste. But still, a beautiful recipe, that I'll be making variations of for a long time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Way too spicy--I'd cut the cayenne in half. Very time-consuming, too. It's okay with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Used 1 T. & 2 tsp. butter & 2 tsp. olive oil instead of ghee (for approximately 2 servings). Added a smidge more of the dry ingredients than called for. First used mustard ground but then discovered I actually did have the seeds. Added a small amount of dried minced garlic about ¼ tsp. Could maybe cut down on the amount of water added next time, seemed to be just a tad too watery at the end. Made with Jerra fried rice (from this site) & Murg Makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
We weren't big fans of this. Didn't like the texture or the flavor very much. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Wonderful! I added about 2 full cups of peas to the recipe because I love peas. I like to avoid butter of any kind so instead of ghee, I used 1 tbs of butter and 1-2 tbs of olive oil. The flavor was not lacking and I will continue to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
AWESOME. That's it. It has been in heavy rotation in our house for years (since 2006! Am editing this in 2012), I make it with 3 potatoes and a can of chickpeas. My 8 month old daughter LOVES this curry. I mash it and water it down a little, and add a bit of organic rice cereal for her :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States