Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Good. Spicy with my changes. I doubled the cumin seed and coriander. Did not use mustard seed. Added 3/4 of an onion (chopped up) and 1 clove of garlic (minced) and a can of garbanzo beans. Used 3 T olive oil instead of ghee. Increased the peas to 2 cups. I used 3/4 cup yogurt (that is what is in a single serve yogurt container. Next time I would increase the amount of yogurt to 2 containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very easy to make, and was very mild. I like hot curry, but I still liked this one. The first time I made it I stuck to the recipe, the second time I added an extra 50% of all of the spices...so if it called for 1 tsp I added 1 1/2 tsp. It came out superb, and had a little more kick. This pleased the people that don't like hot curry perfectly. 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Delicious! I make this recipe at least once a month now. This curry is easy and makes a great side dish for spicy tomato curries. If you are sensitive to spicy foods, use a little less cayenne than the recipe calls for. To my taste buds, this recipe isn't spicy at all, but I had a friend over for dinner who thought it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I also recommend doubling the spices. I used spinach instead of peas, and coconut milk instead of yogurt- but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Fack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was looking for a very mild curry, but despite what other reviews said this curry had some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Added onion and garlic while the fried potatoes simmered and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I have made this several times. I too use coconut milk instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I make this all the time. It's delicious. I double all spices, skip the peas and add chicken. I also throw in a diced onion. You don't need ghee. Ghee is clarified butter and has a munch longer shelf life than regular butter, which is why Indians use it. Any other fat works well here. So why not skip all that saturated fat and use a healthy vegetable oil. Sometimes I use soybean, olive or canola oil. Makes no difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
After reading all the reviews, this is what I did - I used ghee, probably doubled all the spices - I did big heaping tsps and then tasted as it was cooking and added more along with garlic powder (fresh garlic would've been better, but I was lazy) - I did the water and a cup of coconut milk and also added a can of garbonzo beans and instead of peas I used chopped baby spinach. It's really good!! Spicy and comforting - way better than my generic curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States