Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Delicious! I make this recipe at least once a month now. This curry is easy and makes a great side dish for spicy tomato curries. If you are sensitive to spicy foods, use a little less cayenne than the recipe calls for. To my taste buds, this recipe isn't spicy at all, but I had a friend over for dinner who thought it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I also recommend doubling the spices. I used spinach instead of peas, and coconut milk instead of yogurt- but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was looking for a very mild curry, but despite what other reviews said this curry had some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Added onion and garlic while the fried potatoes simmered and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I have made this several times. I too use coconut milk instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I make this all the time. It's delicious. I double all spices, skip the peas and add chicken. I also throw in a diced onion. You don't need ghee. Ghee is clarified butter and has a munch longer shelf life than regular butter, which is why Indians use it. Any other fat works well here. So why not skip all that saturated fat and use a healthy vegetable oil. Sometimes I use soybean, olive or canola oil. Makes no difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
After reading all the reviews, this is what I did - I used ghee, probably doubled all the spices - I did big heaping tsps and then tasted as it was cooking and added more along with garlic powder (fresh garlic would've been better, but I was lazy) - I did the water and a cup of coconut milk and also added a can of garbonzo beans and instead of peas I used chopped baby spinach. It's really good!! Spicy and comforting - way better than my generic curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
AWESOME! after trying to fake basmati, peas & carrots curry (no sauce) to no avail & not liking pre-packaged fare much either, this is the 1st real curry i've cooked & it's DELICIOUS! it's a good "mild & basic" curry with a subtle heat aftertaste. i was hoping for more of a the coriander sweetness or cilantro "freshness" etc. i've tasted in restauraunts, but just like the 1st time i tasted indian food, this dish grew on me and is a total keeper! it's the curry equivilent of "comfort food". i made a "1/2 batch" & subbed olive oil for ghee as mentioned, added extra yoghurt for creaminess. 1 tsp of generic curry powder for "sweetness" & used 1 can of peas & it's juice and loved it so much i joined this site to give it five stars. a nice subtle recipe with all of it's flavors in harmony that doesn't bury the mild flavor of the peas. this curry will sit alongside other spicier (& expensive ingredient) curries when i find some other good looking recipes. it's a perfect starter curry for those afraid of spicy foods and curries can get HOT & but is actually SPICIER than the bland watered down stuff you get in oregon restaunts! if you hate bland foods, DON'T move to oregon! it's ironic that a state whose name is one letter shy of the name of a SPICE is home to kung po chicken that tastes like candy & indian foods that taste like veggie soup. MANY THANKS for awakening my tastebuds to something TASTY besides homemade hotwings & chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is quite good as is, but I make it healthier by using 2 T olive oil instead of the ghee, fat free yogurt, and serve over brown rice. A heart-healthy meal that my kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had higher expectations for this dish! It turned out to be very bland, even after doubling the seasonings. And it had a funky aftertaste, too! I don't think I'll try this one again, but it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States