Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I tried this twice and both times was not good, at first i thought it was only the yogurt i used but i found it has a sweet taste even with plain yogurt. i actually never realized before this recipie that curry was made up of other spices. I learned from making this recipie how to make my other curry recipies taste much better! :) Great spices, love the yogurt to thicken it. I used margarine instead of ghee and ended up just boiling the potatoes in the spices cause the frying didnt go so hot - sticking alot... just dont care for the taste and it needs chicken or onions or something more. i wont be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
In agreement with previous reviews, double the curry spices or this is pretty bland. Also, I substututed olve oil for ghee and omitted frozen peas (yes Indian festaurants use them but they're still, well, frozen peas) and added a couple cups of carefully washed fresh spinach just before the yogurt, it doesn't take long to cook and adds to the nutrition. And as in all potato recipes, I didn't peel them. All this worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great taste, I exchanged yoghurt with Coconut milk...Thanks for a good & simple recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was not very flavorful. I would double the seasoning and use coconut milk instead of water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Like others I made a few modifications. Sauteed onions and garlic with the other spices to start. Added some carrots. Swapped sweet potatoes for the regular- less carbs! Also threw some cilantro on top. Overall great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I wanted something mild so the kids could eat it too. This was a little too hot for us, but we made some changes. 1st we changed the serving to 6 so we could get more sauce. 2nd we used frozen diced breakfast potatoes to cut prep time. 3rd we added 1 zucchini, 1 cup chopped broccoli 1 onion coarse chopped and some garlic powder. we used the Greek yogurt but didn't have enough so we used some heavy cream we had in the fridge. The changed servings said to use 3/4 tsp of cayenne but we decided to use only 1/2 tsp and we found it to be still a bit too hot. My husband loved it! but me and the kids would have liked it a little milder. Very tasty though! We served it over basmati rice and naan on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkrock_mama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This needed a lot of tweaking for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Easy and tasty. Instead of ghee I used two tablespoons of olive oil and one tablespoon of butter. I also added chickpeas for some additional protein/fiber. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It was really good, I did what others said and doubled the spices, and it was a bit too spicy, although I didnt have any turmeric or ginger to substitute... I think next time I would cook the potatoes in chicken stock instead of water, just because I feel like it was missing something and I think chicken might help, so I'd suggest perhaps using chicken bouillon instead of salt... I also added more peas, and would consider adding chickpeas and perhaps coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Really tasty recipe. And fairly quick and easy to make. I substituted milk for half the cream to bring the calorie/fat content down a little bit. Reheated well the second day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States