Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I loved this, even though the consistency was a little thin, I will add less water next time. I used red potatoes because i think waxy potatoes hold up with rice (basmati) and starchy ones turn too mushy. I also added one clove of garlic, half an onion and a small zucchini. This was my first time making curry but I was impressed, it came out better than what I have had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was good and very easy to make. I doubled the spices and subbed coconut oil for ghee. I cooked it a bit differently: I covered the pan while sauteing the potatoes in the first step, then I used only a cup of water and covered the pan to simmer; they were ready in 20 min. I used a can of coconut milk instead of yogurt, and the consistency was just right. If I make this again, I'll add cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a wonderful mild curry! Very creamy and filling. Added some chicken when I put in the peas and it turned out great. Can't wait to make it again. Also, I didn't know how to make ghee, so I just used butter -- didn't have any adverse effects that I'm aware of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
If you use fresh spices, this will be more than enough spicy! After reading the other reviews here's what I did: I used 3 instead of 6 potatoes, but still used the same amount of ghee and spices. I used just a little extra cayenne and so so so so flavorful and spicy it was!!!! I also used half of the yogurt called for and was not lacking for sauce and had not issue with overpowering yogurt flavor. Would have been great with naan if I had any, instead I made falafels, which I know is greek, but it was very tasty together. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Pretty Good! kids were wining and moaning we don't like this we don't want you to make it.... blah blah blah! They loved it and all had seconds one of them even had thirds. I have three kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was seriously good. I did as some other reviewers suggested, and added an onion & two minced cloves of garlic. I also substituted butter for the ghee, and used fresh cracked pepper instead of coriander. Oh, and I also doubled the spices- it was slightly too spicey for me, so next time I will try it with the spices as-is. The sauce was a little thinner than expected, but it still had great flavor, and thickened up the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I used butter instead of ghee, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I doubled the spices in this recipe and, thanks to my favorite Indian restaurant, still thought it came out bland. If you are accustomed to rich flavors that you will get at the restaurant, then definitely triple or quadruple the amount of spices added in. Also, it tasted better the day after making it rather than the night of. I will be making it again just because it was simple, filling, and the idea is right, but my tastes require stronger spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
i thought this recipe was awful , it was bland and tasteless, i put double the seasoning & spices in but still had little taste. will not be wasting my time on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Great recipe. Instead of yogurt, I used 1 cup of coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States