Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
AWESOME! after trying to fake basmati, peas & carrots curry (no sauce) to no avail & not liking pre-packaged fare much either, this is the 1st real curry i've cooked & it's DELICIOUS! it's a good "mild & basic" curry with a subtle heat aftertaste. i was hoping for more of a the coriander sweetness or cilantro "freshness" etc. i've tasted in restauraunts, but just like the 1st time i tasted indian food, this dish grew on me and is a total keeper! it's the curry equivilent of "comfort food". i made a "1/2 batch" & subbed olive oil for ghee as mentioned, added extra yoghurt for creaminess. 1 tsp of generic curry powder for "sweetness" & used 1 can of peas & it's juice and loved it so much i joined this site to give it five stars. a nice subtle recipe with all of it's flavors in harmony that doesn't bury the mild flavor of the peas. this curry will sit alongside other spicier (& expensive ingredient) curries when i find some other good looking recipes. it's a perfect starter curry for those afraid of spicy foods and curries can get HOT & but is actually SPICIER than the bland watered down stuff you get in oregon restaunts! if you hate bland foods, DON'T move to oregon! it's ironic that a state whose name is one letter shy of the name of a SPICE is home to kung po chicken that tastes like candy & indian foods that taste like veggie soup. MANY THANKS for awakening my tastebuds to something TASTY besides homemade hotwings & chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is quite good as is, but I make it healthier by using 2 T olive oil instead of the ghee, fat free yogurt, and serve over brown rice. A heart-healthy meal that my kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had higher expectations for this dish! It turned out to be very bland, even after doubling the seasonings. And it had a funky aftertaste, too! I don't think I'll try this one again, but it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
To really make this work, I suggest you change the milk/water to coconut milk (2 cans), double the spices and peas, and add an onion. But then it really is a nice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was soooo delicious! I grew up in SE Asia and this totally hit the spot for me. I doubled (or maybe even tripled) the spices, especially the spicy ones, and also added a can of chick peas because that's how I remember it as a kid. I also added minced garlic at the beginning. Even my all American burger-lovin' hubby gobbled this down and said I can make it again. I served it with homemade naan. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great base curry, but it needs a bit of tweaking to make it perfect. Double all spices, add one chopped onion to saute pan, add one bunch chopped cilantro at the end, use either greek yogurt or coconut milk in place of regular yogurt, add a lot more peas (use petite ones for sweetest flavor), and most important: fry the cubed potatoes on high in a bit of oil BEFORE adding them to the pan (don't let them cook all the way through), and they will keep that crispy outside but creamy, flavorful inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Fantastic! It does help to add some garlic and onion and to use a bit less yogurt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very easy & yummy! Had to cook my potatoes a little longer than indicated, but ultimately was a very enjoyable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I wasn't able to get ghee, so I substituted olive oil, which may have affected the taste. I found it was spicy, but didn't have a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I doubled the spices except for turmeric and cayenne as suggested by earlier reviews. The curry turned out delicious! It took about 20min for the potatoes to be fully cooked. I think next time I will add some grated onion and some minced garlic as others have suggested, although the curry was still great without those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States