Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very easy to make, and was very mild. I like hot curry, but I still liked this one. The first time I made it I stuck to the recipe, the second time I added an extra 50% of all of the spices...so if it called for 1 tsp I added 1 1/2 tsp. It came out superb, and had a little more kick. This pleased the people that don't like hot curry perfectly. 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Delicious! I make this recipe at least once a month now. This curry is easy and makes a great side dish for spicy tomato curries. If you are sensitive to spicy foods, use a little less cayenne than the recipe calls for. To my taste buds, this recipe isn't spicy at all, but I had a friend over for dinner who thought it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I also recommend doubling the spices. I used spinach instead of peas, and coconut milk instead of yogurt- but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was looking for a very mild curry, but despite what other reviews said this curry had some kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Added onion and garlic while the fried potatoes simmered and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I have made this several times. I too use coconut milk instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I make this all the time. It's delicious. I double all spices, skip the peas and add chicken. I also throw in a diced onion. You don't need ghee. Ghee is clarified butter and has a munch longer shelf life than regular butter, which is why Indians use it. Any other fat works well here. So why not skip all that saturated fat and use a healthy vegetable oil. Sometimes I use soybean, olive or canola oil. Makes no difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
After reading all the reviews, this is what I did - I used ghee, probably doubled all the spices - I did big heaping tsps and then tasted as it was cooking and added more along with garlic powder (fresh garlic would've been better, but I was lazy) - I did the water and a cup of coconut milk and also added a can of garbonzo beans and instead of peas I used chopped baby spinach. It's really good!! Spicy and comforting - way better than my generic curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
AWESOME! after trying to fake basmati, peas & carrots curry (no sauce) to no avail & not liking pre-packaged fare much either, this is the 1st real curry i've cooked & it's DELICIOUS! it's a good "mild & basic" curry with a subtle heat aftertaste. i was hoping for more of a the coriander sweetness or cilantro "freshness" etc. i've tasted in restauraunts, but just like the 1st time i tasted indian food, this dish grew on me and is a total keeper! it's the curry equivilent of "comfort food". i made a "1/2 batch" & subbed olive oil for ghee as mentioned, added extra yoghurt for creaminess. 1 tsp of generic curry powder for "sweetness" & used 1 can of peas & it's juice and loved it so much i joined this site to give it five stars. a nice subtle recipe with all of it's flavors in harmony that doesn't bury the mild flavor of the peas. this curry will sit alongside other spicier (& expensive ingredient) curries when i find some other good looking recipes. it's a perfect starter curry for those afraid of spicy foods and curries can get HOT & but is actually SPICIER than the bland watered down stuff you get in oregon restaunts! if you hate bland foods, DON'T move to oregon! it's ironic that a state whose name is one letter shy of the name of a SPICE is home to kung po chicken that tastes like candy & indian foods that taste like veggie soup. MANY THANKS for awakening my tastebuds to something TASTY besides homemade hotwings & chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is quite good as is, but I make it healthier by using 2 T olive oil instead of the ghee, fat free yogurt, and serve over brown rice. A heart-healthy meal that my kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States