Potato Crunchy Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These were a hit with the family. I stuck with the recipe and directions. Oil temp is very crucial to the breading sticking to the tenders but yet not burning. This is something we will be making often as the kids enjoyed it so much and it is super simple to throw together last minute. Variations of flavors are also endless which is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Wow was this good! So easy too. I used chicken tenders and added garlic powder and parmesan cheese along with the salt and pepper (just eyeballed it) to the potato flakes. I pan fried them in a mixture of canola oil and butter. My husband couldn't believe how good they were for something so simple. Served them with creamy pesto fettuccini. Leftovers tonight will be dan's favorite chicken sandwich from this site. Bacon, cheese, bbq sauce and ranch. Yum. I'll probably add lettuce and tomato too. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I tried this and read one review where it was baked (healthier) , so I tried that and the tenders never browned. I had to "doctor" them up by putting them in a pan with some oil to make them pleasing to the eye, They tasted ok, but wouldn't do that again. I would do them again, but from the beginning fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These were down right delicious and super easy! If you have an electric fryer you can drop them in there making it even easier. The potato breading has so much more flavor than plain old flour. I see no excuse for fast food drive-in chicken mc nuggets which contain who knows what in them when there is such a recipe to be had. Give a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very tasty. I hammered out the chicken a little bit and cut in nugget size. I also left out the salt (the potato flakes have enough for me). The ones I ate were delicous. The rest went into the freezer. I've been looking for a homemade nugget recipe and think I found it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Sorrentino
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Didn't have eggs just used milk still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Sorrentino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
OMG, this was so good and so easy. Loads of flavor. Next time I may try adding some onion flakes and/or parsley flakes. You have got to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great recipe and easily modified! There are a variety of ways to prepare this. But, the first thing I will note- cut the milk measurement down!! You'll end up with too much left over, just to be thrown out. I used 1 egg and only 3/4 cup of milk (plus or minus, as needed). I also added some additional seasonings/spices to the dry mix. A little bit of cayenne pepper can easily make this similar to buffalo style chicken strips! The spices for the dry mix just depend on your taste preference. I also have used flour instead of mashed potato mix (I think flour works better). If you are using mashed potato flakes- WATCH THE OIL TEMP! Too high, and they will burn before they are done cooking through. I prefer using the powdered garlic mashed potato mix, or 1 cup of flour- either one, I still add additional spices/seasonings for flavor. But as other reviewers have posted- DOUBLE DIP BEFORE FRYING!!! Start by coating the chicken in the dry mix. Transfer to liquid mix, dipping enough to coat it well in the liquid, then re-dip & coat it in the dry mix before placing it in the frying pan. This should ensure that all pieces are fully coated, less likely to burn and will remain 'crispy' instead of soggy or the coating falling off. This recipe also works well to cook pork, fish and even veggies! Great base recipe, easily adaptable! Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Not bad. Nice flavor. Way too much milk and potatoe mixture left over. Will probably try again but next time I will try double dipping. Found some of the batter did not stick too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is very good. I made some of chicken tenders with garlic potatoes and some with the buttery ones. My family loved both of them. I also double dipped some of them which added a thicker coating. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States