Potato Crunchy Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just tried these for the first time, they are possibly the best chicken tenders I have ever made. I used "Idahoan Roasted Garlic" mashed potato mix which is better tasting than many of the others. I ended up having enough to cover two lbs of meat, but they are so good that was fine with me. Next time I will cut the salt back to 1 & 1/2 teaspoon, but other than that I love these! Thank you for posting. :-) PS I used a light olive oil, worked great. **Update, just made for second time. Added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder & 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the flakes. They were even better. After removing chicken, you can pour the left over milk in the frying pan, add flour & make gravy. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This tastes great but I don't like frying so I baked it. It was great. I used instant loaded baked potatoes and added shredded cheddar cheese to mix. Covered the baking pan with a thin layer of olive oil. Placed coated chicken strips on pan bake on 350 degrees for 10 min then turn chicken over bake another 10 min. No frying and it was loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakinglover86
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These turned out FANTASTIC! Everyone in my house loved it. I actually didn't use garlic flavored. I just used buttery flavored instant mashed potato packets. It was good without all the garlic in my opinion. They were crunchy, juicy, and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakinglover86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this and it turned out great. Also. my own little twist on 2nd batch--I deep fried and instead of potato flakes I used crushed corn flakes, also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this and it was delicious. I didn't have packaged mashed potatoes, so I used a cup of potato flakes and added a tablespoon of garlic and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese. I also double breaded by dipping in flour before the milk mixture. I used just 1 cup of milk and while a lot was left over, it made the drenching easier. I might use a bit less next time, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This recipe interests me because of my diet. I don't combine grain products with meat. This means I never make crusted chicken bakes. However, potato flakes are not grain! I'm looking forward to using this idea in more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Wish I could give this more stars. It deserves at least ten because of how easy it is. I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. Will be making this many times in the future. Next time I think I will use only one cup of milk with the egg as I had a ton of milk left over. Thanks for a really great recipe. Mary Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was delicious. No changes needed! Although I did forget to add the salt and pepper... Update: Made this again tonight and it was just as good. I'm going to try this on flounder next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was great! I've made this twice now & the family LOVED it. I used only 1/2 package of flakes each time & it was more than enough. 1 1/2 c milk was also more than necessary if u don't want to waste milk. The second time I forgot to add the egg & it still came out good. Adding additional spices to the flake mix is also a possibility, depending on your taste, but by no means necessary. Thanks! We will continue to enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Excellent! Best breaded chicken ever! I wound up with extra potatoes and milk/egg, but it was just a great excuse to thaw a few more tenders. This is a must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States