Potato Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made these with leftover quick potatoes. The real key is that the potatoes must be COLD before adding to oil otherwise they will fall apart! Once you make the balls or patties, refrigerate them until they are firm and cold. Then prepare per this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Haskin Sr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Family Loved this recipe. I baked it (reviewers idea) at 400 15 min per side and sprayed with olive oil. I also used red potatoes, green onion and regular cheddar cheese (what I had on hand). I will be making this again. I love recipes that are versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was a HUGE hit at my house. My husband raved about them for the entire evening. My 1 year old LOVED them. I made them with instant mashed potatoes. I did not add any butter or milk, made sure they were stiff, added all of the rest of the ingredients, rolled into "meatball" size balls then rolled in bread crumbs. I placed them on a cookie sheet and once all were rolled I pressed them down just a bit to make them a bit flatter. The cakes were about 1 to 1 1/2 inches in diameter. I put them in the fridge for about 30 minutes to stiffen futher. Instead of pan frying these (due to eveyone saying how they fell apart) I knew dropping them in the deep fryer would seal them instantly. So I used oil at 350 and each batch of 5 took about 3-5 minutes to be the desired color and crisp. I drained them on paper towels. They were FANTASTIC! We will be making them again, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I altered a few additions (no bacon bits or cheese) but the basic recipe worked wonderfully! I now have a new way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StonedMama
Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was looking for a receipe for leftover mashed potatoes, but this recipe didn't cut it for me. I thought the potatoes were dry and fell apart. They didn't give a good presentation on the plate so I would not serve this dish to company and it wasn't tasty enough in my opinion to keep. I’d rather use the leftover mashed potatoes in another way, like Shepard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I'm always craving potatoes and almost always make extra mashed for dinner. These were sooyummy! (greasy) but absolutely will make again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Pretty tasty. I followed the advice of a review and baked the croquettes for 15min on each side in the oven at 400degrees. They turned out crispy on the outside and nice and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were tasty! I used instant potatoes and put 1/3 less liquid in them to make them thicker. I also used bacon bits and frozen onions. Hey, I'm just a college student! I rolled them in the bread crumbs and lightly drizzled them with olive oil and popped them in the oven, turning them every few minutes to get them golden all the way around. Great with ketchup or ranch dressing! Yummmm I first had these in Spain (croquettas) and my host mother made them all the time from left over potatoes and a protein - ham, bacon, pork... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Two Eggs are too much for the recipe, as it makes the mixture too "wet" and sticky to work with. One egg should have been used in the mixture, and one should have been called to dip each croquette into before adding the breadcrumbs. I knew it was all wrong once I started forming the croquettes and they would not form right. Also, If you want to do this the right way, do not use any milk and butter in your potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Shaughnessy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Came out good! But I used Two Very Large potatoes and one medium with about 1/2 cup milk (just enough to wet it) in food processor and got just a little over 4 cups of mashed potatoes. ANYWAY it came out nice, I served it with hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States