Potato Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made these with leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes. They were ok. I wouldn't go out of my way to make them but I'd make again if I had leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
One hint!!!- put the mashed potatoes with the other ingredients half an hour in the freezer before making into forms.You'll make perfect croquettes on this way.It's no difference if you make the croquettes from potatoes or instant mix .A variation without bacon and onions and only with a little bit of nutmeg and fresh chopped parsley is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I had this in my recipe box for years before I tried it. I already had cheddar cheese in my mashed potatoes and fresh chives, and no bacon. Fried them in olive oil. They came out great, yummy, and very tasty... But alot of work.(standing over the stove frying...ughh!) I'll only make them for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang'snewkitchn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I found that the original potato mix was quite bland, so I added garlic salt and cheese and let them set a day or two in the fridge (by the time I got back to making them) the flavor had GREATLY improved. Also I did not have romano so I used parmesan. I cooked them in the oven and since they weren't as crisp as I'd like after 8 mins on each side on 450, I broiled them for a few minutes on each side afterwards. On each side of the patties, I added a bit more shredded cheddar and garlic salt before broiling. We then dipped them in ranch. Yum! They were a little work, but if I happen to have leftover potatoes, I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used real bacon, made my own bread crumbs from Italian bread, then added chopped green onions (scallions). I also added a pinch of oregano and thyme and that did the trick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I tried the baking method suggested elsewhere (can't make myself fry with all that oil!), and they were only ok. Probably something I did wrong, changing the recipe around, but I don't think I'll try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Realy nice way to use up left over mashed potatos...still gotta a lot of them left though... boys just don eat like they used to lol. awsum with sourcream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great use of leftover mashed potatoes. I used real onions instead of powder. Kept together fine for me. Much better than the typical plain old potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mika707
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used ham instead of bacon, and it was okay. I'll follow the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good recipe, although next time I will omit the salt as the cheese added a good amount (based on other reviews, I used romano and cheddar). I also used minced fresh onion instead of dried and baked the croquettes at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes on each side. I sprayed them with a little olive oil before putting them in the oven, and they turned out nice and crispy without all the extra grease. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States