Potato Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It took a longer time than written. and well they turned out in the weirdest shapes. But all in all they tasted just great. While making them I was like "I never do this again". By eating them I was like "I gotta make these again"! Way better than the ones from the supermarket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Firlefranzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These can be amazing with a little added preparation. Firstly, resist the urge to use freshly made mashed potatoes--the croquettes hold their shape better after a few hours in the fridge. (and won't fall apart in the oil) After coating and shaping the patties, place them on a plate or baking sheet and return them to the fridge for 1/2 hour. While my oil warmed , I coated the patties in crumbs one more time, and flattened them slightly. I mixed some cornmeal in with my breadcrumbs too, and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MllePandora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Search for a latke recipe if you want a hearty potato patty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Did not work for me this time around- made a soggy mess in the pan (ok, so maybe one or two sorta came out ok). Used fresh, homemade mashed potatoes & breadcrumbs... maybe too much butter in potatoes or fry-oil in pan? Froze the remainder to again try later. I also think I made the patties too big... clarification would be nice. Reviewers who liked this recipe seem to have made much smaller ones (read: 1 inch diameter). I give 3 stars bc I'm sure if my skills were up to par it would've been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I also tried it with sweet potaotoes ... my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bajanshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good!! Used left over mashed potatoes, cheddar cheese, diced onion, and fried my own bacon. Then used panko crumbs, as was suggested in another review. Served them with ranch dressing. Great way to make something super yummy with leftovers. Both my husband and I loved them. We even made extra and froze them. Can't wait to fry those up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Instant (chunky) mashed potatoes will work, but I have to add a caveat...form them into balls and roll into bread crumbs. (will be messy) Place them on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper and place them in the freezer for about 40 minutes. They will retain their shape during frying this way. Drain on brown paper and keep warm in the oven. (about 180 degrees)My dinner guests just raved about them! - I also used some fresh parmesan for the cheese-lesser amount- and omitted the bacon. Went well with the salmon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These were awesome - but I did make a few changes as well. I left out the cheese as I am allergic, skipped the bacon, and added some Nature's Blend seasoning mix. The other change I made was quite by accident but worked out great - I added the breadcrumbs to the mix instead of rolling on the outside. This actually helped keep them together while frying. My husband and I fought over the last few bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These are very tasty but did fall apart. I should have read the comments before I made them! I halved the recipe, added some garlic and onion powder, left out the bacon and used parmesan in the mix and also mixed in with the bread crumbs. Next time I will add some flour and try the Panko instead of bread crumbs. I love panko - it makes such a beautiful crust. My daughter loved these and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made these with leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes. They were ok. I wouldn't go out of my way to make them but I'd make again if I had leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States