Potato Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was a great chowder recipe. My 6 yr old turned her nose up at it and said it didn't look good, but after tasting it she loved it and wants to eat it every day. I made a couple changes. I didn't have any thyme or savory so I added some celery seed and old bay seasoning. And I happen to have some light cream that needed to be used, so I subed 1 1/2 c. & 1/2 c. milk for the 2c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have never made clam chowder, and this was easy and very good! I used chopped clams instead of minced so that clams would be a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is similar to a chowder I make called Down East Chowder. Instead of using fresh potatoes I use bagged shredded hashbrowns. It gives it a more meaty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My sister and I really liked this soup. The only thing we didn't like was the amount of parsley. It was overpowering. We're going to make it again with much less parsley and a little more bacon and then we are going to ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is a very good clam chowder. I substituted Jennie's 99% fat-free turkey bacon for real bacon, and used NuSalt to lower the sodium, and it turned out just fine. As a bonus, I made it for a Christmas party, and the "bacon" and parsley added festive colors for the occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
VERY YUMMY!! I had a bottle of clam juice that I wanted to use up, so I subbed it for the water. And I didn't have any milk, so I used half-and-half, instead. Also...I had only 4 strips of bacon so I used them all up...2 strips crumbled and mixed in as suggested, and 2 strips crumbled over the top to serve! As someone else suggested, this is a hearty main course when served with a side of crusty bread and salad...and that's exactly what I did, too! Most excellent...no leftovers, though. Next time, I will double everything so I can enjoy the leftovers for at least another day! Thank you for sharing this simple, and very tasty recipe!! I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a very tasty, flavorful dish, but it was a bit thin. I would recommend putting in some cornstarch or flour to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doberman/puglover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Really wonderful recipe. I used more bacon, substituted half and half for the milk and added a can of sweet corn. My husband had me make it twice in one week...he loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brusly, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent soup, used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I substituted unsweetened soy milk for my dairy-allergic family and it was very tasty. Even better with bacon bits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States