Potato Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is similar to a chowder I make called Down East Chowder. Instead of using fresh potatoes I use bagged shredded hashbrowns. It gives it a more meaty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is a very good clam chowder. I substituted Jennie's 99% fat-free turkey bacon for real bacon, and used NuSalt to lower the sodium, and it turned out just fine. As a bonus, I made it for a Christmas party, and the "bacon" and parsley added festive colors for the occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have never made clam chowder, and this was easy and very good! I used chopped clams instead of minced so that clams would be a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was a great chowder recipe. My 6 yr old turned her nose up at it and said it didn't look good, but after tasting it she loved it and wants to eat it every day. I made a couple changes. I didn't have any thyme or savory so I added some celery seed and old bay seasoning. And I happen to have some light cream that needed to be used, so I subed 1 1/2 c. & 1/2 c. milk for the 2c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I substituted unsweetened soy milk for my dairy-allergic family and it was very tasty. Even better with bacon bits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My sister and I really liked this soup. The only thing we didn't like was the amount of parsley. It was overpowering. We're going to make it again with much less parsley and a little more bacon and then we are going to ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
i made this for new years. it wasn't bad, but not the best i've had. for some reason mine was a little salty. maybe i made a mistake, maybe i didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent soup, used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Delicious recipe my entire family enjoyed. We added some crab and oyster crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This stuff is so good I think everyone should have this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States