Potato Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is similar to a chowder I make called Down East Chowder. Instead of using fresh potatoes I use bagged shredded hashbrowns. It gives it a more meaty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is a very good clam chowder. I substituted Jennie's 99% fat-free turkey bacon for real bacon, and used NuSalt to lower the sodium, and it turned out just fine. As a bonus, I made it for a Christmas party, and the "bacon" and parsley added festive colors for the occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I have never made clam chowder, and this was easy and very good! I used chopped clams instead of minced so that clams would be a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was a great chowder recipe. My 6 yr old turned her nose up at it and said it didn't look good, but after tasting it she loved it and wants to eat it every day. I made a couple changes. I didn't have any thyme or savory so I added some celery seed and old bay seasoning. And I happen to have some light cream that needed to be used, so I subed 1 1/2 c. & 1/2 c. milk for the 2c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I substituted unsweetened soy milk for my dairy-allergic family and it was very tasty. Even better with bacon bits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My sister and I really liked this soup. The only thing we didn't like was the amount of parsley. It was overpowering. We're going to make it again with much less parsley and a little more bacon and then we are going to ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
i made this for new years. it wasn't bad, but not the best i've had. for some reason mine was a little salty. maybe i made a mistake, maybe i didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent soup, used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Delicious recipe my entire family enjoyed. We added some crab and oyster crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This stuff is so good I think everyone should have this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States