Potato Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
East, basic, delicious. My family loved this- a few changes- I added minced celery, a tiny bit of garlic (because I put garlic in everything!) - I added a LOT more clams (made 10 servings and used 7 -6oz cans of clams) and used mostly clam juice from the canned clams in place of the water. But it was going to be TOO thin before all of the milk was added, so I used less milk and put a bit of cornstarch in some clam juice to thicken it. I omitted the parsley and Savory because I had none. The leftovers were gone in a flash the next day. The next time I will add some milk earlier because I don't want to leave out the milk, which makes it rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was pretty good but I would leave the thyme out the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Really excellent. Followed it pretty much exactly except added more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
LOVED THIS! I made this with cream instead of milk and seafood stock instead of water. I also didn't put bacon in it because I didn't feel like making any, and it was freakin' amazing! Seriously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very delicious! We used half the milk/half and half it called for, and triple the black pepper and some red pepper flakes! Also threw some shrimp in there, cut them into three pieces, gave it great color and another texture! It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I thought I followed the recipe pretty close. What changes I did make should have helped the results - 4 slices of bacon instead of 2, a stalk of celery - but I ended up with a watery mild flavored soup. It was good...just not what we think of when we say "clam chowder". Not the hearty comfort fare we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is great. I used half and half instead of milk and 1 lb of bacon (for 16 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Just the recipe I was looking for. I wanted to make clam chowder for my husband before he came home from work and this recipe was perfect because it had all the ingredients on hand without me running to the store. I added a little bit more bacon than the recipe required. Great Clam Chowder soup!!!!! Highly recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this was my first time makeing clam chowder and this turned out awesome. i doubled the recipe and used 10 peices of bacon. will leave extra bacon on the side next time for people who want extra. was very easy and very supa yummy. will make it again family loved it. im so full right now hehe enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made it exactly as directed and it was awesome. Just what I was looking for! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States