Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Was looking for a vegetarian potato soup recipe since I'm allergic to chicken and I thought I'd never find one! This one fit the bill. When I made it I omitted the carrots and the celery because I had none and was snowed in so I couldn't go to the grocery to get any. Only thing the recipe wasn't clear if you should drain the water off the potatoes and onion once they are boiled. I did but after reading reviews that was an "oops" because apparently you're not supposed to. My soup was thick so I added a little more milk. I also added fresh garlic and some other seasonings. Perfect! Will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I added bacon and a can of creamed corn, very yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I used 1 c. of frozen corn instead of canned corn and only 1 c. of cheese, plus I added a little celery seed and fresh ground pepper. I also diced my potatoes and carrots to about 1/2", which really sped up the cooking time. Great recipe. I'll definitely make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made a huge pot of this, thinking I would have some for leftovers... boy was I wrong! My family couldn't get enough! I used frozen corn instead of canned though, so it would be healthier (canned veggies have NO nutritional value!) and taste better. I think I might add some ham next time, but it's good without it too. All in all, VERY GOOD! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a wonderful chowder and easy to make. I did cut up and cooked 5 bacon slices then drained the grease off and set aside to use later for garnish before I added the vegetables. Shared with a friend who loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fields

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I added a cube of chicken bouillon to water while veggies were simmering. In the end it tasted very bland to me, but with adding crumbled bacon, a couple pinches of dried rosemary, a dash of creole seasoning it was Delicious! The recipe has a good base but definitely needed some key flavor components added. The good thing is that you can be creative & add what you like to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made it for a crowd (triple recipe) and got many compliments. The taste was awesome!! Changes i made included adding 1-2 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp rosemary, and using part skim evaporated milk. I only used 1/3 salt in recipe but it was perfect with cheese and bacon . Served these on the side due to guest needs. I prefer a more hearty texture so would easily double the vegetable amounts (potatoes, carrots, celery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
grainy. only 1 can of corn is enough. somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made the potato chowder yesterday and it was a hit with my family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My boyfriend and I loved it. Very delicious and easy to make. I made two small changes by using vegetable broth instead of water to boil the veggies in and then replacing the can of corn with a Midwestern mix of corn, blackbeans and red pepper! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States