Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Was looking for a vegetarian potato soup recipe since I'm allergic to chicken and I thought I'd never find one! This one fit the bill. When I made it I omitted the carrots and the celery because I had none and was snowed in so I couldn't go to the grocery to get any. Only thing the recipe wasn't clear if you should drain the water off the potatoes and onion once they are boiled. I did but after reading reviews that was an "oops" because apparently you're not supposed to. My soup was thick so I added a little more milk. I also added fresh garlic and some other seasonings. Perfect! Will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I added bacon and a can of creamed corn, very yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I used 1 c. of frozen corn instead of canned corn and only 1 c. of cheese, plus I added a little celery seed and fresh ground pepper. I also diced my potatoes and carrots to about 1/2", which really sped up the cooking time. Great recipe. I'll definitely make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made a huge pot of this, thinking I would have some for leftovers... boy was I wrong! My family couldn't get enough! I used frozen corn instead of canned though, so it would be healthier (canned veggies have NO nutritional value!) and taste better. I think I might add some ham next time, but it's good without it too. All in all, VERY GOOD! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a wonderful chowder and easy to make. I did cut up and cooked 5 bacon slices then drained the grease off and set aside to use later for garnish before I added the vegetables. Shared with a friend who loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I added a cube of chicken bouillon to water while veggies were simmering. In the end it tasted very bland to me, but with adding crumbled bacon, a couple pinches of dried rosemary, a dash of creole seasoning it was Delicious! The recipe has a good base but definitely needed some key flavor components added. The good thing is that you can be creative & add what you like to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made it for a crowd (triple recipe) and got many compliments. The taste was awesome!! Changes i made included adding 1-2 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp rosemary, and using part skim evaporated milk. I only used 1/3 salt in recipe but it was perfect with cheese and bacon . Served these on the side due to guest needs. I prefer a more hearty texture so would easily double the vegetable amounts (potatoes, carrots, celery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
grainy. only 1 can of corn is enough. somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made the potato chowder yesterday and it was a hit with my family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
My boyfriend and I loved it. Very delicious and easy to make. I made two small changes by using vegetable broth instead of water to boil the veggies in and then replacing the can of corn with a Midwestern mix of corn, blackbeans and red pepper! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States