Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'll admit, this was pretty good. After I read the other reviews, I also cooked the potatoes, carrots and celery in chicken broth. Yummy! I think I might have slightly scalded the flour mixture, but thats my own fault. I'll try and be more careful next time. I also added some pepper to the soup. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this an excellent soup for a cold winter day....only change is less onions, and added frozen peas. Very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup got great reviews from everyone that was fortunate enough to get a spoonful! I used all chicken stock to cook the potatoes, it really did make amazing flavor. I also used much more potatoes and veggies, as I was really trying to maximize the recipe. Instead of 2 cans of corn, I took a previous reviewers advise and used one can of creamed corn and one regular (Del Monte Summer Crisp). I also used 1C 2% milk and 1C half and half in order to add to the creaminess of the chowder. I think the most important step was that I removed about 1/3 of the potatoes after they were cooked, as well as a handful of other veggies, blended them with an immersion blender, and added them back into the soup. It made a super amazing texture. I will be making this again, and am already taking requests from my family and coworkers for another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Delicious and very easy. I, too, used homemade veggie stock--and used the veggie scraps to make more soup stock later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really good soup! I did use veg broth instead of water. Very tasty as is and also good with a bit of thyme, sage, and old bay seasoning. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
this is definitely my favorite creamy soup i have made. the only reason i gave 4 stars and not 5 is that without a couple additions i think it would be a little bland. i added chopped garlic to the simmering veggies as well as some crushed bay leaves. you could also use chicken broth instead of water and that would kick up the flavor too. this is a really excellent chowder and while its not completely healthy with all the cheese its a great way to get my son to eat carrots and celery (i added more than suggested) sooo good on a cold day, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Raub Gragg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was sooo good! Only thing I would recommend is seasoning up the butter/milk/flour mixture. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This soup is great! I added some cubed ham pieces and garlic powder. Made this for a fall camping trip and everyone thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixielady
Home Town: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good! We were out of potatoes & onions so I added 2C of frozen hash browns & 1C of broccoli. Ended up MUCH better than expected!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blkimmel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States