Potato Chowder Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've used a recipe exactly like this for years and my family loves it! Sprinkle some bacon bits and shredded cheese in each bowl and it's like a loaded baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I loved this soup. I took someone's advice and added two chicken bouillon cubes to the water that covers the veggies. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I thought this soup was pretty bland. I added quite a bit of garlic, pepper, and salt. My husband thought it was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'll admit, this was pretty good. After I read the other reviews, I also cooked the potatoes, carrots and celery in chicken broth. Yummy! I think I might have slightly scalded the flour mixture, but thats my own fault. I'll try and be more careful next time. I also added some pepper to the soup. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
this an excellent soup for a cold winter day....only change is less onions, and added frozen peas. Very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This soup got great reviews from everyone that was fortunate enough to get a spoonful! I used all chicken stock to cook the potatoes, it really did make amazing flavor. I also used much more potatoes and veggies, as I was really trying to maximize the recipe. Instead of 2 cans of corn, I took a previous reviewers advise and used one can of creamed corn and one regular (Del Monte Summer Crisp). I also used 1C 2% milk and 1C half and half in order to add to the creaminess of the chowder. I think the most important step was that I removed about 1/3 of the potatoes after they were cooked, as well as a handful of other veggies, blended them with an immersion blender, and added them back into the soup. It made a super amazing texture. I will be making this again, and am already taking requests from my family and coworkers for another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Delicious and very easy. I, too, used homemade veggie stock--and used the veggie scraps to make more soup stock later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really good soup! I did use veg broth instead of water. Very tasty as is and also good with a bit of thyme, sage, and old bay seasoning. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
this is definitely my favorite creamy soup i have made. the only reason i gave 4 stars and not 5 is that without a couple additions i think it would be a little bland. i added chopped garlic to the simmering veggies as well as some crushed bay leaves. you could also use chicken broth instead of water and that would kick up the flavor too. this is a really excellent chowder and while its not completely healthy with all the cheese its a great way to get my son to eat carrots and celery (i added more than suggested) sooo good on a cold day, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrymama85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States