Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Takes much longer to cook but worth it. I used two large platters with parchment paper and rotated filling and cooking. Each platter took 9 minutes in the micro making sure the chips did not overlap. I used the mandolin to slice Yukon Gold potatoes thinly, quickly and easily, and sprinkled hot chips with a mixture of sea salt, onion powder and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
So easy to make... Just slice and put for 5 minutes in the microwave. Kids kept asking for more. One problem I found though is that it took a long time to make a batch of 2 potatoes, when 1 patch is about 12 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My husband and I enjoy these. I use olive oil to make them healthier, and a microwave-safe paper plate for easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dotti Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Just can't believe how good these are. The only problem is that you can't make that many at a time since you are limited to just one level of potato slices. A multi-level plate contraption would be great here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are fantastic chips! My mandoline sliced a little thicker than most on the thin setting, but I loved the thick homestyle chips that it made. Mine took longer in the microwave, which is very high powered. It may have been because I used huge Idaho baking potatoes. They still turned out great! I realized toward the end of my batches that if I put less chips on my glass platter they took way shorter. Next time I'll try that as I think it would balance out the timeframe. You'll either have 12-13 minutes for big batches or 6-8 minutes for smaller batches. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. I sprinkled garlic salt on mine and look forward to trying different spices in future batches. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
5 ½ - 6 minutes in my microwave. Sprayed with olive oil cooking spray, then sprinkled with coarse sea salt prior to cooking…So good!!! All the taste & crunch without any of the fat of "regular" potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I'd say about 3-4 stars. 4 stars for once finally done. But, they took a lot longer than the time stated and at first were not getting the least bit crispy :( But, after playing with the recipe I added little more oil to the bag and added about 2-3 more minutes cooking time (around 7-8 mins total). They finally started coming out and ended up being pretty good. I think I'll try this recipe again but prepare for it to take a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I never thought vegetable oil and a microwave could make such yummy potato chips! However, instead of using regular potatoes, I used a sweet potato, and everyone was very impressed that they were homemade. This recipe could be a little more specific on how many potatoes to cook at a time, but other than that, I really do enjoy this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginningcooker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Tried this today and we loved it! I thought I would have to invest in a mandolin but it was so easy to use a potato peeler and peel it lengthwise. We took the advice of another reviewer and used cooking spray on both sides. It took 3 1/2 minutes. Easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States