Potato Chip Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I cut the chips down to 1 1/2 cup as another review suggested and I added some chocolate chips into some of the cookies at the end because my family LOVES chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a easy & delicious twist on chocolate chip cookies. Omit the walnuts but add pecans & butterscotch or chocolate chips! Each flavor tastes different. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Overall, these cookies turned out very nicely. They were soft and chewy and tasted yummy. I added 1/2 tsp. orange flavoring (just because) and 1 cup of dark-chocolate chips (again, just because). Good combinations. After adding the chips and nuts, it became too thick for my mixer to handle, so I had to dig in with my hands. I did not, however, give this recipe a 5. I had 2 issues with this recipe: 1st, the shortening made these greasier than they should have been. I'll try actual butter next time, maybe. 2nd, the recipe states to put the dough on an UNprepared cookie sheet. BAD IDEA!!! I left one cookie sheet UNprepared; I decided to see if it'd make a difference. Thank goodness I sprayed the rest - the cookies on the UNprepared sheet BURNED after 8 minutes!!! I had to throw out about 6 cookies - not even my toddler would eat it (and he tried to eat just the top, but he finally threw it down). The rest of the cookies on that sheet, I had to scrape the bottoms. The rest of the cookies, however, were very yummy. I even dipped half in chocolate (and others in melted vanilla). Love these cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've done this recipe several times, always enjoy them, this time I substituted Tortilla chips for the potato chips, very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I remember loving these when I was a kid. But now that I'm an adult, they just don't have the same appeal. It's like putting chips on your school lunch sandwich...you remember it fondly, but now, you just prefer to eat your chips on the side. I substituted butter for shortening, but didn't change anything else. This recipe is a fun idea, but when the novelty wears off, you are left with just mediocre cookies. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A blast from the past, truly a forgotten treasure! My mom used to make these with little stale flakes that we failed to devour from the huge Charles Chips canisters that were delivered regularly to our house. Yes, these cookies are sweet, but no sweeter than many other cookies. The chips do not retain their crunch, but rather they meld into the cookie, leaving behind a chewiness with just the faintest kiss of butterscotch-like flavor. Don't know why it happens - just know that it does, and these are always well received, with many requests for the recipe. No changes necessary, but I used half margarine because I found a stick lurking deep within the bowels of the fridge that I wanted to use up. Simple, "good eats" type of cookie that you'd find frequently filling cookie jars all over America during the 60s. It was always a delight to find my mom baking these when we got home from school. Nothing better than a couple of these with a tall glass of cold milk. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My mom use to make these during my childhood days. Brings back many fond memories. I was rather surprised that many people I know have never heard of potato chip cookies. Anyway, these cookies are very similar to a sugar cookie. The texture is a bit different, though. They are very versatile and additions, such as nuts, chocolate chips, coconut, or other flavor baking chips may be added. Even cinnamon. Whatever your preference is. I like them as written since this is how my mom made them. I did cut back on the white sugar to 3/4 cup, added 3 cups potato chips and 1 tsp butter extract. I baked on parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Key is not to over bake them. Bake just till edges turn brown and center is a light golden brown. This will ensure a crispy outside and a slightly chewy cookie in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Never again..way to much sugar..far sweeter than I or my kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
loved it! didn't change a thing but I did use butter flavored crisco. I also added some chocolate chips to the last batch I put in the oven. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These taste really good, but for some reason my cookies stuck both to a regular uprepared pan and a pan lined with a silpat. Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States