Potato Chip Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Delicious, but extremely heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ibraheem Youssef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Good taste, easy prep, & also provides a way to use up leftovers! My husband took two helpings -- & that is something I watch for when trying a new recipe. My only changes: I used bread crumbs on top (as I had no potato chips) and I used Campbells "Southwest Pepperjack" soup. I will leave out the mayo next time to save calories, as I figure it won't be seriously missed. Thx, Paula, for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I amended the recipe per previous reviewers suggestions, using 2 cans of soup, less water chestnuts and extra rice. I also added about a 1/4 cup of white wine. For all the fat this recipe has, the casserole wasn't all that tasty. Very rich. Fine for a first time try but not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
My husband & I really enjoyed this recipe. I took some other's reviewers advice and added some spices like oregano, poultry seasoning, lots of paprika, some parsley and chopped garlic. We liked the crunchiness of the water chestnuts! They added a nice texture. I used baked Lay's instead of regular chips and used much less than the recipe calls for, and it was plenty! Easy! Will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
While definately not one of the healthiest recipe that I have made in some time, this was exactly the kind of comfort food that I was craving. I did use low fat soup and used one can of Cream of Chicken and another of Cream of Celery. Also cut the mayo in half and used low fat instead of regular. I also followed another reviewer's advice and doubled the rice. One cup would definately not have been enough. Next time I will use fewer water chestnuts and will chop them up. They sort of overwhelmed the recipe. With some tweeking, I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My boyfriend hated this, but he is very picky. I thought it was OK. Not very flavorful and I added extra spices. I made it for my boyfriend so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
The water chestnuts yuck!!! If I were going to ever make this again I would not include the water chestnuts they took away from this whole dish. Sorry but this did not go over well with this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I loved it. Definitely needs to be served with a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I made a few changes to the recipe like broccoli instead of water chestnuts and cream of celery soup instead of mayo. I also added some white cooking wine(just a splash), garlic powder and sauted onion. It was a hit! Two teens and a husband whose mom is an awesome cook ate it up. Only enough leftovers for his lunch the next day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Loved it!!! Thanks for a great recipe!! I have pasted it along to many friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States