Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This stew is delicious, but I did alter it some to make it thicker and to adjust to my family's taste. The recipe didn't specify how much butter to use, so I used a 1/4 c and sauteed chopped onion, celery (with leaves)and 2 cloves minced garlic. When the onions were translucent, I stirred in a 1/2 c. of flour and then added 1/2c. white wine and 5 1/2 c. chicken broth stirring with a whisk and had no problem with a thin broth. I also used fresh chopped carrots and potatoes and frozen corn and beans and cooked all in the stew until softened - adding peas and chopped parsley at the end. Loved the basil. Can't wait to serve this again with either dumplings, biscuits or homemade bread. Very good and filling which makes it a winner at our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
My family really enjoyed this stew!! I made it for a large 9" X 13" chicken pot pie, and it was very good!! I just omitted the mushrooms. But it is excellent for a larger size pot pie, which is something I have been looking for for a long time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipe was very easy to prepare and we loved it, was even better the next day! It's very hearty and AWESOME with toasted garlic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great stew. Cooking everything separately however, seemed too much like work. I made this a one pot wonder. I browned the chicken, then took it out and added the veggies. I cooked those until soft, added the potatoes, which I left raw and put chicken back in. Then I added the flour to make a roux from the oil and added the broth and seasonings. I let the stew cook till the potatoes were done. I still, like others, found the broth too thin so I thickened it with some corn starch and water. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
It is finally fall in DC and the last couple of days have been windy and perfectly autumn! So what does that mean??? Time to bring out the warm and flavor filled soups and stews! I was craving a thick hearty stew and I completely found it in this recipe! As always,I deviated from the recipe, but in essence, they are the same! I love onions and garlic, so I doubled the amount within. I also added zucchini and greenbeans to the recipe. For the seasonings, I substituted sage for oregano, thyme, rosemary, and Adobo. I sauteed the chicken with Adobo, poultry seasoning, and italian seasoning blend. I added a little bit of flour to thicken the consistency and VOILA! a delicious soup that my friends could not help but taste. I highly recommend this recipe for those windy, wonderful fall days....Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good conventional stew. No surprises. I used a left-over carcass (Oh! That sounds gross..) with lots of breast meat as well as some dark. Cooked all of the vegetables together, then added the chicken and stock. It was very hearty and good. Mixed up and added some dumplings as it simmered. I found that a couple of Tbsp of Worcestershire perked it up, and, of course, salt and ground pepper. Good recipe; when it is cooked, take out a cupful and experiment with some spices and condiments to make it exciting. Expect praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Easy dinner....made a few changes to suit our tastes and it turned out good....it didn't thicken as much as I hoped though. 3 and a half stars. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used corn starch mixed in cold water to thicken-about 3 tbspns. That took away any flour taste. Also used dry chicken bouillon and dry tomato bouillon for flavor-about 2 cubes each. Left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was so easy to make, and hearty! It tastes especially good when you want some good, hot comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My husband wasn't too sure when I told him what we were having but he changed his tune once he started eating it. I topped with dumplings, to make it more like a chicken pot pie. The stew didn't thicken like I thought it should and my husband thought it should taste more "stewy" (Whatever that means.) I thought it was good. I didn't have all the veggies on hand, so I substituted all the veggies for 3 cups of frozen veggies. I also slow-cooked it all day and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States