Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
My family really enjoyed this stew!! I made it for a large 9" X 13" chicken pot pie, and it was very good!! I just omitted the mushrooms. But it is excellent for a larger size pot pie, which is something I have been looking for for a long time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipe was very easy to prepare and we loved it, was even better the next day! It's very hearty and AWESOME with toasted garlic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was so easy to make, and hearty! It tastes especially good when you want some good, hot comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My husband wasn't too sure when I told him what we were having but he changed his tune once he started eating it. I topped with dumplings, to make it more like a chicken pot pie. The stew didn't thicken like I thought it should and my husband thought it should taste more "stewy" (Whatever that means.) I thought it was good. I didn't have all the veggies on hand, so I substituted all the veggies for 3 cups of frozen veggies. I also slow-cooked it all day and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe, although it was a pretty hardy stew, it just didn't seem to have enough flavor for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I had to change a couple of things to my liking but it was a very good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Pretty Good... I simmered it quite a bit longer for flavour and used a can of peas instead of frozen veggies (what I had on hand). I might try putting it in a pie crust for pot pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
It is finally fall in DC and the last couple of days have been windy and perfectly autumn! So what does that mean??? Time to bring out the warm and flavor filled soups and stews! I was craving a thick hearty stew and I completely found it in this recipe! As always,I deviated from the recipe, but in essence, they are the same! I love onions and garlic, so I doubled the amount within. I also added zucchini and greenbeans to the recipe. For the seasonings, I substituted sage for oregano, thyme, rosemary, and Adobo. I sauteed the chicken with Adobo, poultry seasoning, and italian seasoning blend. I added a little bit of flour to thicken the consistency and VOILA! a delicious soup that my friends could not help but taste. I highly recommend this recipe for those windy, wonderful fall days....Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This stew is okay. It did not thicken at all. I had to add a lot of extra flour in order for it to be the texture that I liked. I would suggest using 4 or 5 cups of chicken stock instead of 6. The spices were nice and it tasted great with the garlic biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Delicious with these changes. I had some items on hand to use up so I added these to the recipe: chicken thighs instead of breasts, green pepper, white wine, tomato paste and a few fresh tomatoes, Masala spice (Indian spice combination) instead of spices listed. This turned the recipe into an Indian Chicken Stew. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States