Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Delicious, thank you! I followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out perfectly. I added a smidge more Sage and I used my own stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Good but good not seem to thicken up. I tired other raters ideas (cornstarch, flour). This came out more like a chicken soup. Not quite what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Diddles Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Broth was thin like a soup, not like a stew, even though I added 1/8 c. flour and a few spoonfuls of cream of chicken soup. Otherwise, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I'm vigilant about my sodium intake, so I use unsalted chicken broth, and instead of garlic salt, used garlic powder. Also, I sauteed the onion in extra light-tasting olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family love this, I made this one pot stew and add pepper when serving. Very good with toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I liked this dish! It was simple to put together, had everyone on hand and was very tasty! It was filling on a cold Minnesota night. Served with biscuits, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I thought the flavour of this stew was great. But it turned out to be more like a soup than stew. It didn't thicken when I added the flour and I didn't want to keep adding it, so just ate it the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I did have to change a few things to add some flavour though... I first sauteed the celery, onions and two gloves of garlic.. then I added in the flour and the other juices. It was not very thick so I added in a can of Cream of Chicken soup to help with flavour and thickness. I then added the potatoes and carrots, let them cook in the flavour. I then added the mushrooms, chicken and the rest of the vegetables. Letting it cook longer. I added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to add more flavour which helped a lot! I then blended about 5 cups of the stew to thicken it further. I was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did modify the recipe quite a bit to a longer prep time, however. Sauteed the onion, celery and mushrooms with real garlic in butter with 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning and 2 teaspoons herbs de provence. Then added the diced chicken and 2 cups white white - simmer for at least an hour until it starts to boil down. At this point, you can continue with the recipe as is, or add some stock and cook down again before adding other ingredients. If you like that "French" taste, you'll love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used corn starch mixed in cold water to thicken-about 3 tbspns. That took away any flour taste. Also used dry chicken bouillon and dry tomato bouillon for flavor-about 2 cubes each. Left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States