Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
My family really enjoyed this stew!! I made it for a large 9" X 13" chicken pot pie, and it was very good!! I just omitted the mushrooms. But it is excellent for a larger size pot pie, which is something I have been looking for for a long time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
It is finally fall in DC and the last couple of days have been windy and perfectly autumn! So what does that mean??? Time to bring out the warm and flavor filled soups and stews! I was craving a thick hearty stew and I completely found it in this recipe! As always,I deviated from the recipe, but in essence, they are the same! I love onions and garlic, so I doubled the amount within. I also added zucchini and greenbeans to the recipe. For the seasonings, I substituted sage for oregano, thyme, rosemary, and Adobo. I sauteed the chicken with Adobo, poultry seasoning, and italian seasoning blend. I added a little bit of flour to thicken the consistency and VOILA! a delicious soup that my friends could not help but taste. I highly recommend this recipe for those windy, wonderful fall days....Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This recipe was very easy to prepare and we loved it, was even better the next day! It's very hearty and AWESOME with toasted garlic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I am hard to please when it comes to soups and stews, however, I really loved this. It was exactly what I was craving during this crazy snow storm. I left out the mushrooms and frozen veg. I added left over corn nib. Served with cheese biscuits from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was so easy to make, and hearty! It tastes especially good when you want some good, hot comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Delicious with these changes. I had some items on hand to use up so I added these to the recipe: chicken thighs instead of breasts, green pepper, white wine, tomato paste and a few fresh tomatoes, Masala spice (Indian spice combination) instead of spices listed. This turned the recipe into an Indian Chicken Stew. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was pretty good! I substituted thyme for the sage and I left out the mushrooms and celery but the flavor was yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is excellent exactly as written. I doubled it, and it was still perfect. Only thing I added was that I topped it with dumplings. I've been on allrecipes for years, and this recipe is the first one that has ever inspired me to review it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is one of those stick to your ribs recipes. Wonderful after a winter hike or Christmas tree hunting. So wonderful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious and very easy to make! I adapted it to the ingredients I had at home (no mushrooms or celery, less carrots) and I also substituted 2 cups of water for beer. It gave a really nice taste to the sauce! I'll definitely make this again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States