Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Easy dinner....made a few changes to suit our tastes and it turned out good....it didn't thicken as much as I hoped though. 3 and a half stars. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I am hard to please when it comes to soups and stews, however, I really loved this. It was exactly what I was craving during this crazy snow storm. I left out the mushrooms and frozen veg. I added left over corn nib. Served with cheese biscuits from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is excellent exactly as written. I doubled it, and it was still perfect. Only thing I added was that I topped it with dumplings. I've been on allrecipes for years, and this recipe is the first one that has ever inspired me to review it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Delicious with these changes. I had some items on hand to use up so I added these to the recipe: chicken thighs instead of breasts, green pepper, white wine, tomato paste and a few fresh tomatoes, Masala spice (Indian spice combination) instead of spices listed. This turned the recipe into an Indian Chicken Stew. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This stew is okay. It did not thicken at all. I had to add a lot of extra flour in order for it to be the texture that I liked. I would suggest using 4 or 5 cups of chicken stock instead of 6. The spices were nice and it tasted great with the garlic biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
It is finally fall in DC and the last couple of days have been windy and perfectly autumn! So what does that mean??? Time to bring out the warm and flavor filled soups and stews! I was craving a thick hearty stew and I completely found it in this recipe! As always,I deviated from the recipe, but in essence, they are the same! I love onions and garlic, so I doubled the amount within. I also added zucchini and greenbeans to the recipe. For the seasonings, I substituted sage for oregano, thyme, rosemary, and Adobo. I sauteed the chicken with Adobo, poultry seasoning, and italian seasoning blend. I added a little bit of flour to thicken the consistency and VOILA! a delicious soup that my friends could not help but taste. I highly recommend this recipe for those windy, wonderful fall days....Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Pretty Good... I simmered it quite a bit longer for flavour and used a can of peas instead of frozen veggies (what I had on hand). I might try putting it in a pie crust for pot pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I had to change a couple of things to my liking but it was a very good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe, although it was a pretty hardy stew, it just didn't seem to have enough flavor for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
My husband wasn't too sure when I told him what we were having but he changed his tune once he started eating it. I topped with dumplings, to make it more like a chicken pot pie. The stew didn't thicken like I thought it should and my husband thought it should taste more "stewy" (Whatever that means.) I thought it was good. I didn't have all the veggies on hand, so I substituted all the veggies for 3 cups of frozen veggies. I also slow-cooked it all day and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States