Potato Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This stew is delicious, but I did alter it some to make it thicker and to adjust to my family's taste. The recipe didn't specify how much butter to use, so I used a 1/4 c and sauteed chopped onion, celery (with leaves)and 2 cloves minced garlic. When the onions were translucent, I stirred in a 1/2 c. of flour and then added 1/2c. white wine and 5 1/2 c. chicken broth stirring with a whisk and had no problem with a thin broth. I also used fresh chopped carrots and potatoes and frozen corn and beans and cooked all in the stew until softened - adding peas and chopped parsley at the end. Loved the basil. Can't wait to serve this again with either dumplings, biscuits or homemade bread. Very good and filling which makes it a winner at our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
not much flavor, I even increased all the herbs and seasonings. Just not all that good. Will not be making this again. thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great stew. Cooking everything separately however, seemed too much like work. I made this a one pot wonder. I browned the chicken, then took it out and added the veggies. I cooked those until soft, added the potatoes, which I left raw and put chicken back in. Then I added the flour to make a roux from the oil and added the broth and seasonings. I let the stew cook till the potatoes were done. I still, like others, found the broth too thin so I thickened it with some corn starch and water. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious and very easy to make! I adapted it to the ingredients I had at home (no mushrooms or celery, less carrots) and I also substituted 2 cups of water for beer. It gave a really nice taste to the sauce! I'll definitely make this again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Good conventional stew. No surprises. I used a left-over carcass (Oh! That sounds gross..) with lots of breast meat as well as some dark. Cooked all of the vegetables together, then added the chicken and stock. It was very hearty and good. Mixed up and added some dumplings as it simmered. I found that a couple of Tbsp of Worcestershire perked it up, and, of course, salt and ground pepper. Good recipe; when it is cooked, take out a cupful and experiment with some spices and condiments to make it exciting. Expect praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was pretty good! I substituted thyme for the sage and I left out the mushrooms and celery but the flavor was yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is one of those stick to your ribs recipes. Wonderful after a winter hike or Christmas tree hunting. So wonderful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Very good, hearty stew. I did have to add about 3x the amount of flour to get it to thicken up. Also, instead of dirtying multiple pans to cook the chicken & onions, I just put oil in the pot along with a pressed clove of garlic to cook the chicken, then added onions to sauté. From there I added the rest as instructed, (except I used raw potato) and simmered everything for 1 1/2 hours and served over rice. A very quick and easy meal to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a very good recipe. Will definitely make it again and again. I did not have dried sage so I used Thyme after researching that it could be used as an ideal substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I used leftover jerk-seasoned cooked chicken along with the rest of the ingredients and it gave it a really nice kick! I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States